Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
annelieselawrence
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-29-2007
Message 1 of 28 (1,211 Views)

How do I move objects?

1211 Views, 27 Replies
03-29-2007 11:09 AM
I am creating a machine which is attached and I wanted to put these three pieces together and weld them together so they are one piece. I need the two arcs on either side of the nearly fully enclosed semi-circle. I actually don't even know how to move any objects that are already placed somewhere. Any ideas? Thanks!
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 2 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 11:17 AM in reply to: annelieselawrence
Please place your parts into a zip file before attaching... thanks.

--
Dennis Jeffrey, AICE, MICE
260-312-6188
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr.
Inventor 11 Professional SP2
HP Pavillion Zv5000 (Modified)
Geforce Go 440, Driver: .8185, 2GB RAM
XP Pro SP2, Windows Classic Theme
http://www.design-excellence.com
wrote in message news:5535235@discussion.autodesk.com...
I am creating a machine which is attached and I wanted to put these three
pieces together and weld them together so they are one piece. I need the
two arcs on either side of the nearly fully enclosed semi-circle. I
actually don't even know how to move any objects that are already placed
somewhere. Any ideas? Thanks!
Contributor
annelieselawrence
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-29-2007
Message 3 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 11:24 AM in reply to: annelieselawrence
I zipped the inventor file for you as requested.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,254
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 12:01 PM in reply to: annelieselawrence
How much training did you get? Those are three separate parts should be three separate files. I would save 2 additional times and then delete the extra parts from each of the 3 files. Then I would create an assembly weldment file. Just like the real world.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
annelieselawrence
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-29-2007
Message 5 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 12:36 PM in reply to: annelieselawrence
Well, then one more question...I put them on a weldment file but then how do I attach them to each other. I am very new at Inventor. I have worked with AutoCad. I am still a student.
Mentor
andrewiv
Posts: 636
Registered: ‎09-21-2006
Message 6 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 12:40 PM in reply to: annelieselawrence
You really should go through some training or at least run through the tutorials before trying to use inventor. Look for contraints under the help file and it should answer your question.
Inventor Professional 2014 SP2
Vault Professional 2014 SP1
Windows 7 64 bit
*Gary R Smith \(Autodesk\)
Message 7 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 12:46 PM in reply to: annelieselawrence
You might find that the tutorials that are shipped with Inventor answer
many, many questions.

A weldment is similar to a "normal" assembly: you place component parts
"into" the weldment and you constraint them into their final positions.

Weldments then provide you with the ability to apply: weld preparations,
weld beads and post-weld machining features.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,254
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 01:02 PM in reply to: annelieselawrence
>how do I attach them to each other
With assembly constraints.
Work with it a bit and if you can't figure it out hollar back and I will provide an example.

BTW students can get Autodesk Inventor Professional for free from http://engineersrule.org

This doen't address your immediate problem but you might want to go through this document before you develop too many bad habits.
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/AU2006/MA13-3%20Mather.pdf
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,254
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 01:08 PM in reply to: annelieselawrence
>I am still a student.

Just out of curiosity - since I'm in the business - doesn't that imply that you are getting some level of professional instruction for which either you or the taxpayers are paying for? Or are you teaching yourself? I ask because it seems to me that a lot of students are doing the later because for some reason they don't seem to be getting what they are paying for.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
Josh_Petitt
Posts: 5,400
Registered: ‎09-21-2004
Message 10 of 28 (1,211 Views)

Re: How do I move objects?

03-29-2007 01:51 PM in reply to: annelieselawrence
> ask because it seems to me that a lot of students are doing the later

JD, just an opinion from a former engineering student. The institution where I graduated had a good policy (IMHO). They would not teach ANY software package used by any of the courses. However, all software used by any class was available in the computer labs. The rationale behind this was that software packages change very, very quickly. However, engineering fundamentals do not change as quickly (especially for undergrads). So, with limited hours in a classroom, they concentrated on teaching the fundamentals and it was the students' responsibility to learn to use software XYZ to get the results they needed.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.