Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 1 of 8 (1,208 Views)

How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

1208 Views, 7 Replies
05-31-2012 10:42 AM

I used the Active Constraint opition to make the parts interact but I cant figure out how to animate it. I know it is possible, I just have no idea how to. Could any one possibly tell me or give me a link showing how to?? 

Distinguished Contributor
hfds006
Posts: 269
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 2 of 8 (1,164 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-06-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

Have you had any luck sorting this out?

I'd love to see the end result.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,455
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 8 (1,150 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-06-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

I think you will need to set that up in Dynamic Simulation and then Publish to Studio.

That one is particularly easy - can you attach your assembly here?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 4 of 8 (1,130 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-09-2012 09:37 PM in reply to: JDMather

Here is all the part files including the assembly. And whats is Dyanamic simulation? I was trying to use Inventor Studio but is Dynamic simulation easier?                                                                    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39599771/Geneva%20Drive.rar

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,455
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 8 (1,121 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

I am not interested in going to a third party site to see your files.

Attach here as suggested.

Dynamic Simulation is part of Inventor Professional (students can download Inventor Professional for free from http://www/autodesk.com/edcommunity).

 

If you can attach your files here I can show you how simple this problem is. (and don't use *.rar either)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 6 of 8 (1,113 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 07:57 AM in reply to: JDMather

Ok, sorry. I didnt know I could just attach it here. And theres one more part to the assembly I'll attach in the next post. 

Member
GillisPatrick
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Message 7 of 8 (1,112 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 07:58 AM in reply to: JDMather
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,455
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 8 (1,104 Views)

Re: How do I animate my Geneva Cam using Inventor Studio?

06-10-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: GillisPatrick

First thing I notice is that some of your sketches are not constrained.

Second thing I noticed is that the drive pin on the Input gear is Ø14 and the slot on the Geneva is also 14mm.

This won't work in the real world.

Some pins will be slightly larger and some slightly smaller depending on the manufacturing tolerance.
Sole slots will be slightly smaller depending on the manufacturing process.

Even if the manufacturing process was exact - there would still need to be clearance between the parts.

 

Since all of the sketches were not dimensioned - I did not bother to check other for other conflicts.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.