Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Can I put holes in a pattern on helix shape object?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
595 Views, 8 Replies

How Can I put holes in a pattern on helix shape object?

I am new to Autodesk Inventor, and I want to put holes on 2 sides of helix shape object.   The holes are about 0.125" deep and 0.80" wide and next to each other.   Encluded the shape.

Thanks for your help

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
sam_m
in reply to: Anonymous

Welcome to the forum.

Whenever posting please list the version of Inventor you are using as anyone on an older release is unable to open any example files (and commands/abilities change with releases) - so it helps to prevent frustration for everyone to know the version from the start 😉

I have been able to open the file, so you're at least on Iv2012 (or older)...

1) all your sketches are unconstained and missing dimensions.  Without any dimensions the sketches can change freely and have no concept of scale - you say you want 0.8" diameter holes, but what if you sketch is only 0.1" wide to start with, or 100"...  Plus it needs to be constrained to either the origin, or a fixed point, to prevent the sketches moving about...  I know this probably sounds confusing, or even unnecessary, but with more and more use of Inventor it soon becomes vital.

For help, it's worth reading through JD Mather's tips for beginners guide as it will give you a great start with Inventor:

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf 

2) I can see a helical rib running around a rod/shaft but I'm still lost where you're wanting your holes.  Can you post a sketch/photo/image of what you're wanting.  "2 sides of helix shape object.... and next to each other" isn't massively descriptive.

Sam M.
Inventor and Showcase monkey