Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
jrhymes
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-13-2009
Message 1 of 11 (433 Views)
Accepted Solution

Hover over part properties

433 Views, 10 Replies
04-29-2013 06:07 PM
Coming from MDT I'm having a hard time adjusting to some of the features that are missing in Inventor. One of which was a command that allowed me to hover over any part in MDT and it would show me the part name and if it was a structural steel item would show me the G_L or length. I cannot find this feature in Inventor and don't even know if this is available. This allowed me to open an assembly and quickly go through it and see what it's made of. Anyone know of something like this and where to turn it on or get it?

Thx
Jason

I seem to remember someone wrote an addin/program to do this..

I'll look around and see if I can find it.

Something like "iproperties display" or something like that.. 

 

edit.. found.. but looks like its not actively updated for new versions,etc..

http://www.mcadforums.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=12487

and this

http://www.mcadforums.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=12424

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,159
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 11 (418 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-29-2013 07:51 PM in reply to: jrhymes

I haven't used MDT since the 90's, I just RMB on the item and choose the iProperties.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
jrhymes
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-13-2009
Message 3 of 11 (413 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-29-2013 08:22 PM in reply to: jrhymes
That is what i see as the only option right now. I guess if no one saw a faster, better way then it would be an expectable solution. What do you do when you need to identify 30-40 unique parts in a assembly? Right now I can mouse over them in MDT and they highlight and a popup tooltip comes up quickly telling me what it is. I can go through a 40 part assembly in about 10 seconds and know what it's built out of and all there length. It's kind of similar to this from manusoft for autocad http://www.manusoft.com/software/periscope/
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,159
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 11 (408 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-29-2013 08:40 PM in reply to: jrhymes

Or just use the BOM tool within the IAM, you can customize and select the fields you want for the columns (you even get a free thumb-nail picture courtesy of the programmers from Autodesk)

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
jrhymes
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-13-2009
Message 5 of 11 (405 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-29-2013 09:01 PM in reply to: blair
Yes, that was another option I was looking at but the bom window doesn't stay open. It's faster then using iproperties tho and may be an option. The icons do me no good since all structural shapes of the same family will have the same icon regardless of the size or shape. If the browser would show the correct part info it wouldn't bother me as much but because the browser defaults to the file name of the part, it can't always be trusted so that is why I'm looking for a place to get quick part info without having to drill into them.

Jason
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,159
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 11 (397 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-29-2013 09:41 PM in reply to: jrhymes

You can always export to a Excel file with the fields/colums of your choosing as well.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
jrhymes
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-13-2009
Message 7 of 11 (387 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-30-2013 04:04 AM in reply to: jrhymes
? Not sure if I follow exporting to excel and how that would help.
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,159
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (371 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-30-2013 08:14 AM in reply to: jrhymes

Eport the BOM to an Excel with the columns you require. You can have a hard copy to work with as well.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Mentor
swhite
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 9 of 11 (364 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-30-2013 09:14 AM in reply to: jrhymes

Should be able to open the BOM and see everything you need.

BOM.PNG

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,944
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 10 of 11 (363 Views)

Re: Hover over part properties

04-30-2013 09:16 AM in reply to: blair

I seem to remember someone wrote an addin/program to do this..

I'll look around and see if I can find it.

Something like "iproperties display" or something like that.. 

 

edit.. found.. but looks like its not actively updated for new versions,etc..

http://www.mcadforums.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=12487

and this

http://www.mcadforums.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=12424

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.