Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
dragonstar.aaron
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 1 of 12 (338 Views)

Hole Function

338 Views, 11 Replies
11-21-2012 05:52 AM

I am working with the 2010 Inventor Student license but I ran into a problem that is really annoying. Inventor will not let me make a hole on the top of my object. The hole conformation button is grayed out no matter what the parameters are. I have tried to extrude a hole from a circle and same deal; it will not let me extrude the circle. Can someone help me? Could it be something to do with making a hole on an extrusion?

 

Thanks,

-Aaron

Valued Contributor
machiel.veldkamp
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-08-2011
Message 2 of 12 (332 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 06:02 AM in reply to: dragonstar.aaron

When I move the EoP and Sketch 5 to 2nd place (just above Extrusion 1) I can make an hole. 
I guess I don't know why it happened. But I know something is wrong. 


Can';t really help. Sorry.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

___________________________
Inventor 2012 lastest service pack
RAM: 24GB DDR3 / CPU: Intel Xeon W3690 @3.47Ghz
Video: NVidia GeForce 680/ HDD: 15.7K
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,265
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 3 of 12 (329 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: dragonstar.aaron

It wouldn't let me do it either.  Not sure, but this might be a short coming of the educational version.

Try doing a revolved cut instead.  That works.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Mentor
doubleA26
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎06-19-2007
Message 4 of 12 (327 Views)

Edited, sorry, I  misunderstood where he was putting the...

11-21-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: dragonstar.aaron

Edited, sorry, I  misunderstood where he was putting the hole...

 

- Aaron -
IV 2010 Tube & Pipe SP4; ACAD Mechanical 2010;
2.5 ghz Xeon Processor
8 gb RAM
Windows 7 Professional x64
EVGA GTX 560 2gb DDR5
Member
dragonstar.aaron
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 5 of 12 (319 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: doubleA26

Hmm This could be a problem. Same parameters just I can't make that hole.

Mentor
doubleA26
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎06-19-2007
Message 6 of 12 (313 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: dragonstar.aaron

Is that where you would place the mentioned hole??  Select the concentric edge and it should align that hole correctly...

- Aaron -
IV 2010 Tube & Pipe SP4; ACAD Mechanical 2010;
2.5 ghz Xeon Processor
8 gb RAM
Windows 7 Professional x64
EVGA GTX 560 2gb DDR5
Mentor
doubleA26
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎06-19-2007
Message 7 of 12 (308 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 06:17 AM in reply to: dragonstar.aaron

I am also able to use the sketch you have on the side to create the hole without moving EOP or sketches...

aaron_hole function.png

- Aaron -
IV 2010 Tube & Pipe SP4; ACAD Mechanical 2010;
2.5 ghz Xeon Processor
8 gb RAM
Windows 7 Professional x64
EVGA GTX 560 2gb DDR5
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,271
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 8 of 12 (304 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: dragonstar.aaron

Where exactly are you making this hole?  What method are you using?  Mot sure of this has anything to do with it or not, but I'm surprised your Revolution1 worked at all since the sketch is an open loop.  I tried moving the EOP around like some others did, and the revolution failed.  Were you trying to put a concentric hole on this feature?

 

EDIT:

 

Once I rebuilt the revolution, the hole feature worked just fine.....

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Member
dragonstar.aaron
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 9 of 12 (297 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: doubleA26

I was actually trying to follow the tutorial in Part 1 but the hole function didn't like it.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,846
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 12 (255 Views)

Re: Hole Function

11-21-2012 10:35 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Cadmanto wrote:

.... this might be a short coming of the educational version.


Haven't we covered this before?  There is absolutely, positively no difference in functionality between commercial license and student license.

There is no "education version".  Only the license terms of use are different.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.