Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
sgold
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 1 of 3 (346 Views)
Accepted Solution

Hole Diameter Tolerance Reset

346 Views, 2 Replies
07-02-2012 10:58 AM

I keep hving trouble with a hole and the diameter tolerance.

 

Create a simple hole, single diameter concentric and specific depth.  I go to the tolerance window for the diameter and change it to a Limits-Linear.  I enter my values .3758 and .3754.  Precision is .1234.  I clikc OK, then go back to the tolerance, and its reset both values to .3756  What gives????  I've deleted and recreated the hole, edited it about 10 times, and still the same effect.  What could I be doing wrong?  Thanks!

 

--Scott

Scott G.

Using Inventor 2013/2014 and Vault Basic since 2012
Using Simulation Flow 360 since 2013 (sparingly, bear with me please)
6 years Solidworks (v2006-v2010)
10 years Pro-Engineer (v13-WF2) w/ Intralink (2.0-3.0) w/ Pro/Mechanica
2 years of Mechanical Desktop
AutoCAD since R12
First professional CAD: DrafixCAD

Tools / Options / Document Settings / Units

 

Image3.jpg

Distinguished Mentor
rdyson
Posts: 909
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 2 of 3 (340 Views)

Re: Hole Diameter Tolerance Reset

07-02-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: sgold

Tools / Options / Document Settings / Units

 

Image3.jpg

Active Contributor
sgold
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 3 of 3 (324 Views)

Re: Hole Diameter Tolerance Reset

07-03-2012 05:26 AM in reply to: rdyson

Ah, I double checked again, this model didn't have the 4 place in the precision in the Document Settings.  Seems pretty stupid that you need to dig and figure that out when your tolerances are resetting.  It kept showing the full 4 places in the window for the dimension edit, so never considered a document setting being the issue!  Shouldn't the setting WITHIN a particular feature override the document global?  If I need one 5 place decimal, I should have the entire document on 5-place?  That's stupid!

 

Thanks rdyson!

 

--Scott

Scott G.

Using Inventor 2013/2014 and Vault Basic since 2012
Using Simulation Flow 360 since 2013 (sparingly, bear with me please)
6 years Solidworks (v2006-v2010)
10 years Pro-Engineer (v13-WF2) w/ Intralink (2.0-3.0) w/ Pro/Mechanica
2 years of Mechanical Desktop
AutoCAD since R12
First professional CAD: DrafixCAD
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!