Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Inventor to Modify STP model

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
corneliushenke
1039 Views, 7 Replies

Help with Inventor to Modify STP model

I'm new to this and stuck. It is frustrating.  I have a STP file of a seat that I just want to simply modify it's dimensions.  Bring some aspects in closer, raise the back, and hollow out the middle.  I can't seem to do anything and in searching online I only ended up with Inventor Fusion 2013 R1 that crashes each time, and Fusion 360 which has to be the worst user experience I have ever found in a piece of software.

Can someone download this model and tell me how I can simply modify it?  It would mean a lot.  (Side note I understand a little about solid models and surface models, but I just want something to work, otherwise inventor is a glorifed model viewer.

I couldn't attach the file so here is the link to it. http://grabcad.com/library/ducati-998-seat

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
CCarreiras
in reply to: corneliushenke

Hi!

You can use some tools in Inventor like: Move faces and delete faces to do edits in Step Files.

Post the file and the modifications you want to do, we help you.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

CCarreiras

EESignature

Message 3 of 8
JDMather

@corneliushenke wrote:

I'm new to this and stuck. It is frustrating.  .... ..., but I just want something to work, otherwise inventor is a glorifed model viewer.

Inventor is a professional program and deserves (requires?) a professional level of preparation.

What you want to do is not trivial since the model you downloaded is what is commonly referred to as a "dumb" or base solid without dimensions.