Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
LonesomeJoe
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 1 of 21 (572 Views)

Have some fun with it

572 Views, 20 Replies
06-01-2012 12:50 PM

We just changed to Iv R2011, and there's a new irritation in it... I've been told there's no way to turn it off, so I thought I'd have some fun with it (see attached). 

 

... waaaaay back in the day... (for us older folks, "once upon a time..."), a company called AutoDesk made a product called AutoCAD.  They sold this to a person named User.  The product worked well, though it did not DO a whole lot.  The company improved it over time, and both AutoDesk and User were happy.  Then, one day, an evil troll named Microsoft changed the ground upon which AutoCAD stood!  The change was monumental, and all involved agreed that Microsoft must be a genius.  One of the teeeeny, tiiiny changes was an extra "mousie-click" needed to do things that only one "mousie-click" had done before.... "AHA" thought AutoDesk (and its progeny, SolidWorks, et al...), we have discovered the secret of the troll's genuis... it's "mousie-clicks".  Every new release added "mousie-clicks" to every operation, until it took TEN "mousie-clicks" to so what one had done before.  And THAT is the reason in Inventor, AutoCAD, and ALLLL the others, it takes an extra "mousie-click" to say "I'm done"... and an extra to say "Yes, I'm really done"... and ONE MORE to say "YES, DARNIT, I'M REALLY DONE!!!"... ) ... aaaandd, NEW in R2011,  you must click the green check-mark!!

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 2 of 21 (564 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-01-2012 12:58 PM in reply to: LonesomeJoe

Well you are in luck kind of.. In 2011 that can be turned off just can't remember how.. But you do have a way..


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Mentor
LonesomeJoe
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 3 of 21 (516 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-01-2012 01:52 PM in reply to: jletcher

Thanks... but where's the fun in that?  If you happen to remember how to turn it off, let me know, otherwise, it's really not a big deal -- I just seem to make a big deal out of some things....  I used ACAD R12 on DOS until 2000, when we got "Y2K-ed" and had to go to Windows.  With DOS, a right-click cancelled the command... with Windows, it gave a drop-down menu, and you had to select the cancel command... I STILL want all those extra mousie-clicks back!!

Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 4 of 21 (480 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-01-2012 10:54 PM in reply to: LonesomeJoe

Options/Sketch uncheck 'Enable Heads-Up Display (HUD)'

 

HTH

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 21 (403 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-04-2012 04:29 AM in reply to: LonesomeJoe

The usability and efficiency of a user interface is more complicated than just counting mouse clicks.  How far you have to move the mouse and how precisely you have to position it also have a big effect. 

 

In the image you attached, where's the inefficiency?  You enter the number you want (or drag the arrow if that gives the results you need) and hit enter or click the check box, all in the immediate area where you are working.  Very little mouse movement involved.

 

Not in any way saying that the user interface is perfect, but the example you showed is one of the good things about the recent interface changes.

Valued Mentor
japike
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎02-06-2004
Message 6 of 21 (390 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-04-2012 05:01 AM in reply to: sbixler

While I agree wholeheartedly with Sam and generally don't appreceiate rants, I enjoyed your story - it made me smile this Monday morning.

Peace,
Jeff
Inventor 2013
Mentor
LonesomeJoe
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 7 of 21 (366 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-04-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: sbixler

Sam;

The inefficiency comes from the change.  Before, I could just hit the "Enter" key, which even 2 months after the change, I still do out of habit.  Now, I have to grab the mouse and hunt down the green check mark.  I've selected the "New Work Plane" icon (mousie), clicked on the surface to define the new work plane (mousie), then entered the value of the offset (keyboard), then hit "Enter (keyboard).  With the new version, I have to use the mousie for the last step.  No, it's NOT more keystrokes, just different ones... If there's a real problem, as opposed to a phantom problem, it's with me.  But, I do need to ask, where is the net GAIN in the change? 

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 8 of 21 (349 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-04-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: LonesomeJoe

Still works pretty much the same way.  Type the value, hit Enter, then hit Enter again.  The first one nails down the value you typed in, the second one executes the command.

Mentor
LonesomeJoe
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 9 of 21 (336 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-04-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: sbixler

hmmm....  that's correct... I've still got Iv R2010 on my machine at home, and if I remember to check (which is unlikely, as it requires me to remember) I'll look, but I believe we've picked up an extra "enter" keystroke.....  One thing I disagree vehemently with you on is the idea of an interface change.  To me, there is NO "good" interface change.  If the user interface changes, the change should ADD some value, or it's better left alone.  This would seem to be a good example -- we've added a keystroke, but the result is the same.  Why add the keystroke?  Interestingly, if I decide in the middle of the command that I don't want to make the work plane, I hit "Esc".... yup... TWICE, now.

 

At my worklace, most of what we do is fairly simple, as the industry is flat plate, angle, and channel steel.  We're also asked to work extremely fast.  Every time we change releases, it seems AutoDesk has to scramble the user interface, and that only slows us down.  I guess no one else feels that way, but to me it's what I call the "regretting having changed releases" phase....

 

I think what scares me the most is that AutoDesk has used a green and a red check mark, kinda like SolidWorks.  Frightens me, as I wonder if AutoDesk is trying to be LIKE SolidWorks, which would be very, very bad. 

Mentor
LonesomeJoe
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎04-02-2007
Message 10 of 21 (333 Views)

Re: Have some fun with it

06-04-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: trumpy81

I went to "Options/Sketch" and unchecked "Enable Heads-Up Display (HUD)"... unfortunately, it's still on.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.