Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
Talayoe
Posts: 292
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
Message 1 of 4 (170 Views)

Goofy Section

170 Views, 3 Replies
11-28-2012 06:02 AM

Hello all,

 

I made a new part right out of Assembly, shaft gen and then put a gear on the out side of one secion. When I pull it into  a drawing and try to section it, it comes out like so...

 

Bad Section.jpg

 

Obviously this section doesnt really show much of the inside. I thought maybe I had buggered a setting or something...so I created a new IPT and brought it into the drawing and it worked fine, like so....

 

Good section.jpg

 

What gives? The only differnce really is that I created the first one entirely from assembly mode and the second from part mode. I have drawn many gears in recent times, dimensioned, sectioned ect with no issue... I also tried using the different options in the section pop up (Slice, full, distance, ect) I could make it section partially with a combination of options, but it wasnt proper like this second pic.

 

Any ideas?

 

TIA!

 

=]

-Randy

----------------------
Inventor 2015 PDS
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 4 (162 Views)

Re: Goofy Section

11-28-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: Talayoe

VIEW.JPGHi,

When you edit that view what setting do you have here?

Try "Always"

 

 

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,221
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (158 Views)

Re: Goofy Section

11-28-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: Talayoe

Can you attach the assembly here (only need two parts).

I have had something like that occur only if i dragged the view to the other side after creation.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
Talayoe
Posts: 292
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
Message 4 of 4 (143 Views)

Re: Goofy Section

11-28-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: JDMather

Now, please let me be clear. I tried this last night on my laptop and that was where I thought my settings were goofy. So I tried this morning on my desktop. Same thing. I make this post. I get the email requesting the file, so what do I do? I rename the assembly from 'Assembly1' to 'Bad Section' ... and just for the sake of it try again with both suggestions.

 

Now it reacts perfectly... I tried pulling on both sides and it sectioned correctly. Tried changing the browser settings, but since it worked already from the pull there wasnt any change there.... And yet, if I create a new file I can replicate the original problem. With this in mind, I re-tried the 'obey browser..' and there was no change.

 

I have attached all nessesary files in a zip file.

 

I doubt this could be solely related to the file naming, but I have no clue. So I am good for the moment, but it still perplexes me why it does this.

 

tks guys!!

-Randy

----------------------
Inventor 2015 PDS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.