Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,213
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 5 (682 Views)

General System Error - Entering Constraint Offset

682 Views, 4 Replies
04-08-2011 01:15 PM

Placed a sub into my assembly.  when I tried to enter an offset for a flush constriant, I get a "General System Error".  I can work around it by not entering in the fraction for the offset.  But it is a pain.

 

Does it everytime when I try to enter the fraction in the offset box.

 

2011-04-08_1508.png

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,165
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (681 Views)

Re: General System Error - Entering Constraint Offset

04-08-2011 01:25 PM in reply to: karthur1

Will it work with a decimal rather than fraction?

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Contributor
rajivsudhi
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 3 of 5 (581 Views)

Re: General System Error - Entering Constraint Offset

08-09-2011 04:39 AM in reply to: karthur1

Please delete your Sub assembly. Open your Sub assy, Save and close. Again place it in the assy. It will work.

The general system error dosent come. You can give decimal units for offset.

Employee
johnsonshiue
Posts: 2,172
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 4 of 5 (570 Views)

Re: General System Error - Entering Constraint Offset

08-09-2011 09:23 AM in reply to: karthur1

Kirk,

 

I cannot reproduce the General System Error message. But, I do see the fraction input getting rejected. This is due to Parameters not accepting fraction input in some cases, i.e. 3 2/5. In Parameters, the whole expression is being evaluated as an equation. If you input 2/5, it will be taken as 2 divided by 5. If you input 3 2/5, Inventor gets confused because of the space.

The only workaround other than inputting decimal point is replace the space with '+' sign. Then 3 2/5 should be input as 3+2/5.

Thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,213
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 5 (561 Views)

Re: General System Error - Entering Constraint Offset

08-09-2011 10:22 AM in reply to: johnsonshiue

Havent seen this in a while.  I wasnt "trying" to enter the offset as 1'-4/5".  I think that was a typo.  But it would not even allow me to enter a valid fraction, i.e., 1'-3 1/2".  Once I seen the GSE, I could only enter in a decimal for the offset.

 

Thanks

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.