Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fully Constraining Sketch for Revolve.

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Lonnie.Cady
384 Views, 3 Replies

Fully Constraining Sketch for Revolve.

Hello, I am new to Invnetor and come from a SW background.  I was just making a sketch to revolve and in SW I would have constrained it one of the planes.  I am not sure how to apply the final constraint in Inventor to fully constrain it.

inventor constraint.png

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
blair
in reply to: Lonnie.Cady

The only thing that is missing would be the dimesion to the origin unless you have the origin point at one of your line end points. I normally place my center rotation line at the 0,0,0 origin point and all thats needed to a simple construction line from the center point to an end point and a constraint to fix it.

Inventor 2020, In-Cad, Simulation Mechanical

Just insert the picture rather than attaching it as a file
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ

Message 3 of 4
JDMather
in reply to: Lonnie.Cady

There is absolutely no difference between SolidWorks and Inventor in this respect. (well you do have to Project Geometry in Inventor, but I would simply used the auto-projected origin center point)  Add a vertical relation, err constraint, between vertical line on the right and the endpoint of your center line (or add a dimension if you want it offset.

Not sure why you would have any difficulty.

Attach your *.ipt file here.

Use the Origin whenever possible, just like SWx.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 4 of 4
Lonnie.Cady