Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
AnthonyPaul2010
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎07-19-2010
Message 1 of 5 (216 Views)

Freezing for a brief second

216 Views, 4 Replies
07-10-2011 10:13 PM

I have just upgraded to 2012 and I get a brief (and very anoying) freeze when I enter a command such as line.

 

It only appears to happen when dynamic input is on or while I am in ortho mode. It seems to freeze while computing the coordinates for displaying. I have looked up the help files on direct entry thinking it might be linked to that but that didn't find any solution.

 

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Anthony Paul (from Cairns, North Queensland, Australia)

Product Design Suite
Inventor Premium 2012 - SP1 Installed
HP 8760w I7-740M Laptop
Windows 7 Professional 64
12 Gb DDR SDRAM
AMD FirePro M5950 Graphics Card
Member
JVPVH
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 2 of 5 (133 Views)

Re: Freezing for a brief second

10-24-2011 06:49 AM in reply to: AnthonyPaul2010

We are dealing with the exactly same problem right now. We have bought two identical computers and only one of them is having freezing troubles mentioned above. Another one is running wthout any troubles. We have tried to install ACAD 2011 or 2012, but problem is still persisting. It would be really nice to have an answer to it.

 

Radim Vitek (EU, Czech Republic)

 

HP Elite 7100 Microitower PC

8 GB RAM

Intel Core i7 CPU 2.93 GHz

NVIDIA GeForce GT 230

WIN 7 64-bit

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,056
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 5 (118 Views)

Re: Freezing for a brief second

10-24-2011 08:19 AM in reply to: JVPVH

If you are running a 3D Connexion device - open the control panel and Calibrate daily.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
JVPVH
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 4 of 5 (88 Views)

Re: Freezing for a brief second

10-25-2011 04:49 AM in reply to: JDMather

Sorry, but we don´t run any 3D Connection device. So, I think it´s not a cause...

Member
JVPVH
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 5 of 5 (80 Views)

Re: Freezing for a brief second

10-25-2011 05:43 AM in reply to: JVPVH

Finally, I have solved the problem - ACAD 2012 was in collision with HP ProtectTools Security Manager. So, unistall this program and freezing should disappear.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!