Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,330
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 6 (229 Views)
Accepted Solution

Frame Generator, Use existing points

229 Views, 5 Replies
02-16-2014 09:33 PM

I dont use Frame Generator that much, but ran into a situation where I thought it might be useful.  I am needing to add a cross member to my frame, but I dont have a sketch that represents the cross members.  Is there a trick to adding them without having to make a sketch on the plane that they will be on?

 

2014-02-16_2326.png

 

In the above view, I need to add some braces where I have the red lines.  Wouldnt it be nice if we could pick points from existing members of the frame work?  I tried that, but could not get that to work.

 

Thanks,

Kirk

 

You would need to create a sketch if the cross member is at a certain angle. Otherwise you can use the 2point option where you select two points where you want your member to be. But the easiest would be to create a part and creating the sketch

*Expert Elite*
JoAnn_Hogan
Posts: 529
Registered: ‎06-25-2012
Message 2 of 6 (207 Views)

Re: Frame Generator, Use existing points

02-17-2014 12:37 AM in reply to: karthur1

You would need to create a sketch if the cross member is at a certain angle. Otherwise you can use the 2point option where you select two points where you want your member to be. But the easiest would be to create a part and creating the sketch

If this post solved your issue please mark as solved and Kudos are always welcome =)

Jo - Ann
Twitter: @JoAnn_Hogan
AutoCAD Certified Professional 2015 / Inventor Certified Professional 2015
Valued Contributor
ASI_Aaron
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 3 of 6 (184 Views)

Re: Frame Generator, Use existing points

02-17-2014 01:56 PM in reply to: karthur1

Interesting enough, you can select individual points on parts that aren't inserted with the frame generator.

 

FG_pt to pt.PNG

 

But I was unable to select any other points on the channel members you see in the image.

- Aaron -
Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014 SP1
ASUS G750JX-DB71
Windows 7 Pro
4th Gen Haswell i7-4700HQ
16GB Kingston DDR3 HyperX RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770M
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,330
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 6 (177 Views)

Re: Frame Generator, Use existing points

02-17-2014 02:31 PM in reply to: ASI_Aaron

Aaron,

That's interesting, but all my parts are inserted with FG......

 

A point is a point is a point......why should it matter if its a FG part or other "normal" part?

 

Kirk

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,466
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 6 (171 Views)

Re: Frame Generator, Use existing points

02-17-2014 03:00 PM in reply to: karthur1
Done lots with points on different work planes, from point to point on either the same or different planes. Never worked with points on a FG part.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,233
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 6 (166 Views)

Re: Frame Generator, Use existing points

02-17-2014 03:39 PM in reply to: karthur1

In the interest of creating a robust assembly - I think I would just buckle down and add to the skeleton file.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/IS-INVENTOR-REALLY-USEFUL/m-p/1332811/highlight/true...

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.