Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 913
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 11 of 15 (132 Views)

Re: Frame Generator Question

12-21-2012 12:00 AM in reply to: BLHDrafting

'Just remember to only demote once as a second demote will break the FG member link to the Frame assy'

 

Good tip Brendan :smileyhappy:

 

One other point to remember - don't supress the frame generators sletal model. This can make it go screwy. Instead, just  use views to make it invisible.

 

Paul

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 12 of 15 (122 Views)

Re: Frame Generator Question

12-21-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: PaulMunford

And remember that Inventor is not a steel detailing program if that's what you are trying to achieve (even though we use it like one here from time to time). I second the promote/demote workflow but it has a major con... If you need to change what is in each sub-assembly (mistakes, design changes, whatever) you end up breaking constraints and have to fix them.

 

View reps work okay if you get the handle on locking/unlocking as you go, but in our testing there was no way to get the Parts Lists AISC/NISD compliant. Plus if your frame is a large one it becomes very cumbersome to keep all the view reps straight (IMHO).

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Active Contributor
rms390
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 13 of 15 (93 Views)

Re: Frame Generator Question

12-26-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: BLHDrafting

You can't demote the base plates, you have to click and drag the pieces on the browser (annoying).  You can't click and drag patterns into the sub assembly, you have to delete the pattern, move the individual piece into the subassembly, and then re-pattern it.  

 

It makes me feel incredibly stupid to have to go through this process when I literally have the frame done but I can't do anything with it for detailing. 

Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 14 of 15 (88 Views)

Re: Frame Generator Question

12-26-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: rms390

LIke I mentioned earlier, if someone told you that this was a structural steel detailing program (like my reseller told me in the beginning), they didn't know what they were talking about. That being said, we demote any of our appurtenances (base plates, whatever) all the time. Perhaps there is a grounding issue or something that has changed since our version.

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Active Contributor
rms390
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 15 of 15 (83 Views)

Re: Frame Generator Question

12-26-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: jeanchile

I said it incorrectly, I should have said that I have to demote FG parts and non-FG parts separately.  That is annoying because it makes you type in the file name for the sub-assembly in order to get the piece in there.  Clicking and dragging is only slightly less annoying.  

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.