Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Carl_mgfx
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎12-19-2011
Message 1 of 5 (640 Views)
Accepted Solution

Frame Generator and Custom CC library Naming Convention

640 Views, 4 Replies
01-19-2012 03:06 AM

I have looked through the forums and could not find a specific topic that addressed the issue I am having.

 

  • I have set up a Custom CC library that contains structural shapes.
  • In the Family Table I have a Stock No column which references the value in my DESIGNATION column
  • The Stock No column is mapped to Project.Stock Number
  • Under Template Parameter (in Parameter Mapping) I have mapped StockNo to Design Tracking Properties: Stock Number.

 

When I use Frame Generator to add a structural shape, from my library, the name shown in the Model Browser is formatted as follows (Standard)+(Unique Number) and not (Standard)+(Stock Number)+(Unique Number).

 

I have run out of ideas on how to get the Stock Number to show in the model Browser.

 

Can anyone please let me know how to get the members name to show, with the correct format, in the Model Browser as this will make identifying members in an assembly easier.

 

Please see attached for Model Browser pic.

 

Kind Regards

 

Carl van Rooyen 

Kind Regards
Carl van Rooyen
Application Engineer

Gigabyte Q1542, Win 7 Pro 64Bit, i5 - 3230M, 8 GB Ram
Intel HD Graphics with Nvidia GeForce 640M / 2GB and Optimus
Valued Contributor
jpealo
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎06-10-2008
Message 2 of 5 (623 Views)

Re: Frame Generator and Custom CC library Naming Convention

01-19-2012 08:02 AM in reply to: Carl_mgfx

Carl,

 

I've had the same issue and I wasn't able to get it to work consistently. I think the reason it two fold.

 

1. It's tricky to get table content to publish correctly. I've had to redo tables multiple times to get the data to stick. I might add that migration from one release to another can sometimes present problems. I've had to rebuild entire libraries because of corruption in migration. 

 

2. In Inventor 2012, I've found a bug where instance names in an assembly don't always update unless you manually update them by way of opening the file and changing the file name field.

 

You may have already tried this, but you might need to restart the computer to get things to work and reindex the libraries if you're using Vault. I've done this in the past and had some success.

Valued Contributor
Carl_mgfx
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎12-19-2011
Message 3 of 5 (596 Views)

Re: Frame Generator and Custom CC library Naming Convention

01-23-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: jpealo

Thanks for the reply, although I am still struggling with this and many other issues in creating my own custom library.

 

I will be posting another thread soon on other problems I am having with regards to scross section properties required by Inventor and Frame Analysis. Also reading those properties from the family table instead of the cross sectional geometry.

Kind Regards
Carl van Rooyen
Application Engineer

Gigabyte Q1542, Win 7 Pro 64Bit, i5 - 3230M, 8 GB Ram
Intel HD Graphics with Nvidia GeForce 640M / 2GB and Optimus
Valued Contributor
Carl_mgfx
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎12-19-2011
Message 4 of 5 (537 Views)

Re: Frame Generator and Custom CC library Naming Convention

03-26-2012 01:37 AM in reply to: jpealo

I have finally had time to come back and have a look at this and I've found a solution to this problem.

 

It seems that when you initially create the iPart, you need to include all the properties you will need from the "Properties" tab, I.e.. Description, Stock No, etc. (I had left "Stock No." out)

 

Including the Stock No in the iPart Table will then allow it to be added to the name in the browser when using Frame Generator.  

Kind Regards
Carl van Rooyen
Application Engineer

Gigabyte Q1542, Win 7 Pro 64Bit, i5 - 3230M, 8 GB Ram
Intel HD Graphics with Nvidia GeForce 640M / 2GB and Optimus
Active Contributor
WAYNE_HOUWD
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 5 of 5 (525 Views)

Re: Frame Generator and Custom CC library Naming Convention

03-26-2012 07:55 AM in reply to: Carl_mgfx

Hi Carl,

 

Can you try to place part into a regular assembly directly from the Content Centre instead of working under Frame Generator Environment Assembly?

 

Make sure you check "As Customer" instead of "AS Standard'. See attachment.

 

With this operation, you can customize all your material section as whatever you want.

 

 

Best Regards,

 

Wayne

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.