Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
ghmail16
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Message 1 of 9 (344 Views)
Accepted Solution

Frame Copy

344 Views, 8 Replies
10-18-2012 06:14 AM

Hello,

I have made a Door with Frame Generator and I want to make an other one like this with higher height. So I copied and

pasted the files of Frame with windows explorer and then changed the Frame Height of the new file assembly. But that changed the height of the first door also. I guess because the new door is still related with the old frame. What can I do to copy frame objects that I want to change partially

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
richiesuk
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Message 2 of 9 (332 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

10-18-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: ghmail16

use copy design

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,890
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 3 of 9 (330 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

10-18-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: ghmail16

Hi ghmail16,

 

Depending on the version of Inventor are you using, you might be able to use the iLogic Design Copy tool. It was included in the 2012 and 2013 versions. It will copy and update the internal links of the frame. Note that you don't need to have used iLogic to use the iLogic Design Copy tool.

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/3364-Show_Me_3364/3365-Show_Me_3365/3747-iLogic3...

 

The Copy Design tool in the SDK will work as well.

 

Paul covers both of these tool here:

http://cadsetterout.com/inventor-tutorials/the-secrets-of-copying-assembly-files/

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

 

 



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Contributor
ghmail16
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Message 4 of 9 (268 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

12-17-2012 10:53 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

I used

Tools>iLogic>iLogic design copy

but with Inventor open and all files closed.

Thanks for the help.

Valued Contributor
JorisSteurs1246
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-25-2008
Message 5 of 9 (167 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

04-26-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Hi Curtis

 

When I would do this workflow, i get a message that the skeleton could not be copied and that the origingal skeleton wil be used. This is not good because your original frame will be messed up when making changes at the new frame.

Is there a work around for this?

 

Thanks

 

Joris

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,219
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 6 of 9 (162 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

04-26-2013 10:11 AM in reply to: JorisSteurs1246

For frames and tube & pipe assemblies, I've always had good luck with Vault copy design.  But... you have to be using Vault.  :smileytongue:

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Contributor
JorisSteurs1246
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-25-2008
Message 7 of 9 (157 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

04-26-2013 11:38 AM in reply to: cbenner
Yep, Stand alone user, tried Vault many years ago but it slowed me down,
didn't allow me to go picking parts in old folders and some
other annoyances, so I didn't use it anymore since.


Joris Steurs

Design & Fabrication
www.distep.ee
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,219
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 8 of 9 (154 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

04-26-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: JorisSteurs1246

I agree Vault has it's share af annoyances, but I'd be lost without it.

 

Have you tried Design Assistant?  I've never used it with FG, so I don't know how it handles the skeletons.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Contributor
JorisSteurs1246
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎10-25-2008
Message 9 of 9 (150 Views)

Re: Frame Copy

04-26-2013 12:10 PM in reply to: cbenner
Yes DA gives the same complaint as the ilogic copy design tool.


Joris Steurs

Design & Fabrication
www.distep.ee
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.