Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flexible Plastic Part

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
SteveFrey
1484 Views, 8 Replies

Flexible Plastic Part

I'm designing a flexible plastic clip that in essence will compress under pressure as the top rail comes down over it.  Once in place it will prevent the rail from being removed.  I've never done this before but what I would like to do is to be able to design the part and see it bend as it comes in contact with the other surfaces, sort of like a spring.  How would I go about this?  See attached.

Steve Frey
Inventor 2021
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
HP ZBook 17 G6
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9880H CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 80 GB
NVIDIA Quadro RTX5000
3D Connexion SpaceMouse Wireless
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
JDMather
in reply to: SteveFrey

Can you attach the assembly here?

Is the top part the rail?
Image 3 doesn't look right to me as isn't there some feature to limit the depth of penetration of the cantalevers?

If inserted from bottom up in your image and a limit to depth I think it can be done - cantalevers will bend in and then back to vertical, but if the bend out that is a change in direction of bend arc that I don't think will be possible to simulate.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 9
SteveFrey
in reply to: JDMather

See attached for the file.

Steve Frey
Inventor 2021
HP ZBook 17 G6
NVIDIA Quadro RTX5000
Message 4 of 9
SteveFrey

JD: