Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flatten Part Error

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
jody.beck
2790 Views, 11 Replies

Flatten Part Error

I am very new to Inventor and have hit a problem trying to flatten a part that I can not solve. I need the part to flatten in order to get a reasonable idea of the shape that needs to be CNC laser cut later. I get the following error: "Could not split between bend and plate. Please check if there is a relief gap so the bend can be deformed". Any help will be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Jody

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
JDMather
in reply to: jody.beck

Find the red End of Part marker in the browser.
(End of Folded on sheet metal parts EOF)
Drag the red EOP to the top of the browser hiding all features.

Save the file with the EOP in a rolled up state.

Right click on the file name and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.

Attach the resulting *.zip file here.

Use IE if Chrome or other brower giving trouble with attachments. (or the other way around)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 12
jody.beck
in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for your help. IE did the trick.
Message 4 of 12
JDMather

As a beginner, you should not use Adaptivity.

Never ever use zero (0) length dimensions.

I will fix this up and post back with solution.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Message 5 of 12
jody.beck

What is the proper way to orient a line, circle, etc. to the origin? Do you make a coincident constraint? Thanks for your help, Jody
Message 6 of 12
JDMather