Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flange Creation: Auto-Miter, bend position, and face size problem

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
EKEM3
536 Views, 13 Replies

Flange Creation: Auto-Miter, bend position, and face size problem

Hello

I am new to Inventor and new to working with sheet metal. So I apologize if this problem is easy to solve, I have tried looking for a simple solution but cannot find one yet.

The problem seems simple:

I would like to create a simple panel from sheet metal. Inventor automatically creates a miter when I create several flanges for the panel. I do not want this miter.

I tried several things to solve this problem, such as changing styles and un-selecting the "Apply auto-miter" in the flange dialogue to no avail.

The solution I came up with is to create the flange using "Bend from the adjacent face" option in the flange dialogue, this option increases the size of the panel so I have to resize the original face I made to account for the increase. Considering doing many panels of different sizes and gauges, it is a time consuming thing to do. I would rather not create a program to solve this particular problem.

Is there a simple way to create flanges without the miter and without increasing the size of the face?

Hope my question is clear enough. Any advice is appreciated!

Images for clarity:

What I do not want:

flange1.jpg

What I want (but with retaining the original size of the face):

flange2.jpg

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
Jacob_Butler
in reply to: EKEM3

Are you talking about the corner relief? Are you trying to get rid of it?

in reply to: Jacob_Butler

Yes, if that's what you call it. (the part that is missing in the second image)
Message 4 of 14
Jacob_Butler