Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 1 of 6 (235 Views)
Accepted Solution

Finding Surfaces in my assembly

235 Views, 5 Replies
11-09-2012 11:46 AM

Hello fellow Inventor users

 

I am working with an assembly that has a mixture of Solids and Surfaces. The surfaces are a problem

because when I generate a drawing, the surfaces hides details that I want shown.  I want to uncheck

their visibility however if I take my curser and hover over the surface or edge of the surface on my assembly,

I get no response. I have to go to the parts tree, expand each part, look for surfaces to see if its the one I am

looking for to turn off. I know there must be an easier way that I don't know about. Does anyone have any

suggestions? Any tip is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Randall

 

Inventor 2013,  Windows 7

Select "Component Priority" at the top of the list.  That is the default one.

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 6 (232 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: rgraham817

Try using these tools to see if you can select items better.

select.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 3 of 6 (227 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Thanks. I tried the filter for surfaces and faces and it worked. I was trying several of the filters and  I don't know what I did but when I went back and tried finding the surface in the browser, I got an error message "Selected Object

could not be found in the Browser. It may be filtered off." How do I clear the filter selector?

Sorry for being a pain.

Sincerely

Randall

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 6 (215 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Select "Component Priority" at the top of the list.  That is the default one.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 5 of 6 (211 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Thanks Scott

 

That did the trick.

 

Very Respectfully

 

Randall

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 6 (202 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Awesome.  Glad I was able to help.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!