Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 1 of 6 (238 Views)
Accepted Solution

Finding Surfaces in my assembly

238 Views, 5 Replies
11-09-2012 11:46 AM

Hello fellow Inventor users

 

I am working with an assembly that has a mixture of Solids and Surfaces. The surfaces are a problem

because when I generate a drawing, the surfaces hides details that I want shown.  I want to uncheck

their visibility however if I take my curser and hover over the surface or edge of the surface on my assembly,

I get no response. I have to go to the parts tree, expand each part, look for surfaces to see if its the one I am

looking for to turn off. I know there must be an easier way that I don't know about. Does anyone have any

suggestions? Any tip is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Randall

 

Inventor 2013,  Windows 7

Select "Component Priority" at the top of the list.  That is the default one.

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 6 (235 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: rgraham817

Try using these tools to see if you can select items better.

select.JPG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 3 of 6 (230 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Thanks. I tried the filter for surfaces and faces and it worked. I was trying several of the filters and  I don't know what I did but when I went back and tried finding the surface in the browser, I got an error message "Selected Object

could not be found in the Browser. It may be filtered off." How do I clear the filter selector?

Sorry for being a pain.

Sincerely

Randall

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 6 (218 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Select "Component Priority" at the top of the list.  That is the default one.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 5 of 6 (214 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Thanks Scott

 

That did the trick.

 

Very Respectfully

 

Randall

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 6 (205 Views)

Re: Finding Surfaces in my assembly

11-09-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Awesome.  Glad I was able to help.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.