Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fillet acting strange

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Fruity13
911 Views, 3 Replies

Fillet acting strange

Hello everyone,

I'm new at inventor and have done some tutorials already but not all. I've stopped at the 2nd assembly because I wanted to start a project of my own. Yet I have stumbled upon a strange behavior of the fillet command. It seems to work fine on one side of a part, but works odd on the other side. Inventor is telling me something is wrong but I can't pinpoint what it is I am doing wrong.

Can some wizards help me at this? I'm trying to fillet the handle of this part but this strange swirl happens.

Funny swirl (right side)                                          All is fine (left side)

swirl finished.png        fine finished.png

Now I don't know what happened. Can somebody tell me what I did wrong?

I'll put in the links to the part files below (Inventor 2013).

Left Plate (all is fine)

Right plate (swirly thingy)

Thank you for helping me out.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
JDMather
in reply to: Fruity13

You are missing many (all) dimensions and many geometry constraints.  (become very familiar with Tangent constraints)

The origin location does not have any logic.

I recommend you set this project aside for a couple of days and take the time to go through these.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/p/inventor-tutorials.html
http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=HELP_TUTORIALS&language=ENU&release=2014&product=Inve...

Then I recommend that you approach this model with multi-body solids technique.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional