Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feature patterning along non circular, non rectangular

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
Anonymous
1245 Views, 15 Replies

Feature patterning along non circular, non rectangular

Hi,

I'm new to inventor!

I need to repeat a hole inside a circumference and don't know:

1. How to define a path that is exactly like the circumference, inside the geometry face, and with defined distance from sides

2. How to repeat a hole along a path which is neither circular nor rectangular

If to use sweep, I must define a path so this return me to fist problem, creating closed loop. Also, I'm not sure that sweep tool is for hole repeating at all. Standard patterning tools won't work here, hope there is a way to define general path.

What is the right technique for this matter please? If my description is not clear (I'm non native with English) please open the attached image.

Thank you in advance.

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Please attach your .ipt file.

Message 3 of 16
JDMather

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi,

I'm new to inventor!

1. How to define a path that is exactly like the circumference, inside the geometry face, and with defined distance from sides

2. How to repeat a hole along a path which is neither circular nor rectangular

1. Project Geometry and Offset.
2. Curve driven pattern (you might read this document http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/skillsusa%20university.pdf )

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 4 of 16
Anonymous

Hi,

Thank you for fast and kind responses, by reading pdf I still can't figure out the answer.