Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
patvenetucci
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 1 of 5 (197 Views)

factory update

197 Views, 4 Replies
03-15-2012 09:18 AM

I can't create a dwg from an assembly because it's telling me that "The factory must be updated before views of it's members can be used".  What does this mean and how do you update the factory???

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,159
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 5 (195 Views)

Re: factory update

03-15-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: patvenetucci

Open the iassembly. Do a rebuild all then save then regenerate the members.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


New Member
patvenetucci
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 3 of 5 (188 Views)

Re: factory update

03-15-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

I dont' have any iassemblies........

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,159
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 5 (170 Views)

Re: factory update

03-15-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: patvenetucci

patvenetucci wrote:

I dont' have any iassemblies........


Factory/members means you either have an iassemby or iparts are being used in that model. Check again.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 5 of 5 (159 Views)

Re: factory update

03-15-2012 12:19 PM in reply to: mcgyvr

patvenetucci, look in the top position of your browser of the part you are working on. I would expect there to be a checkerboard icon and the term Table there. This indicates that you have a part that has been made into an Ipart. This is essentually multipul parts linked in a table form. You may have to open each of the parts in the table and regenerate them.

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!