Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jbscott2121
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎01-17-2008
Message 1 of 11 (310 Views)

Extrusion in assembly

310 Views, 10 Replies
03-04-2008 05:44 AM
I was wondering why that when you are in an existing assembly, and you want to add something by extruding to one of the parts. The only option not greyed out is cut.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,832
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 05:51 AM in reply to: jbscott2121
Just like the real world. You do not add material to an assenbly (except by weld or Move Face) you only cut material. If you want to add material to a part then edit the part.

Tip #95
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/AU2006/MA13-3%20Mather.pdf
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
andrewiv
Posts: 632
Registered: ‎09-21-2006
Message 3 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 06:37 AM in reply to: jbscott2121
So why is it that we wouldn't be able to add surfaces to an assembly?
Inventor Professional 2014 SP2
Vault Professional 2014 SP1
Windows 7 64 bit
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,832
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 07:00 AM in reply to: jbscott2121
Not sure what you mean. Faces or surfaces?

Simply Place Component and select the part with your surfaces.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
andrewiv
Posts: 632
Registered: ‎09-21-2006
Message 5 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 07:16 AM in reply to: jbscott2121
I work in the conveyor business and we need to show the grade of the jobsite on our drawings. Most of the time I can just use the work planes to represent the grade, however if grade is different at the head of the conveyor then I have to create a part. It would be a lot easier if I could just extrude a surface in my assembly, rather than having an extra part file out there that will probably never be used again.
Inventor Professional 2014 SP2
Vault Professional 2014 SP1
Windows 7 64 bit
Distinguished Contributor
lama
Posts: 121
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 6 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 07:23 AM in reply to: jbscott2121
UNlike the real world, i can't add stamping onto round parts at the assembly level which really irks me.
Larry Marshall
2013 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 Sp1
Intel(R) Core (TM) i5-2400 @ 2.00GHz
6.00 GB of RAM
AMD Radeon HD 6570
*Blair Stunder
Message 7 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 09:47 AM in reply to: jbscott2121
Just create a sketch, or even better, create a skeleton, a IPT that only has
a sketch that is your grade. You will be able to contrain items to the
skeletal sketch. If your grade changes, so will your conveyor.

--
Dell 670 dual Xeon - 3.2
3gb memory, SCSI320-15k
XP-Pro, sp2
Quadro FX3400: Driver: 169.61 Direct3D
IV2008-pro sp2,
SpacePilot Rel V: 3.5.4 Dvr V: 6.4.4 Firmware 3.12

wrote in message news:5865626@discussion.autodesk.com...
I work in the conveyor business and we need to show the grade of the jobsite
on our drawings. Most of the time I can just use the work planes to
represent the grade, however if grade is different at the head of the
conveyor then I have to create a part. It would be a lot easier if I could
just extrude a surface in my assembly, rather than having an extra part file
out there that will probably never be used again.
Valued Mentor
pcunningham1
Posts: 1,195
Registered: ‎10-07-2003
Message 8 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 12:35 PM in reply to: jbscott2121
You'd think you could use assembly sketch geometry to define assembly work planes, and thus not need the phantom/skeleton part, but you'd be wrong!

-Paul Cunningham
Paul Cunningham
IV2008
*Blair Stunder
Message 9 of 11 (312 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

03-04-2008 02:59 PM in reply to: jbscott2121
The nice thing is that you can change the BOM to reference for the skeletal
IPT and not have it show up.
--
Dell 670 dual Xeon - 3.2
3gb memory, SCSI320-15k
XP-Pro, sp2
Quadro FX3400: Driver: 169.61 Direct3D
IV2008-pro sp2,
SpacePilot Rel V: 3.5.4 Dvr V: 6.4.4 Firmware 3.12

wrote in message news:5866196@discussion.autodesk.com...
You'd think you could use assembly sketch geometry to define assembly work
planes, and thus not need the phantom/skeleton part, but you'd be wrong!

-Paul Cunningham
Active Member
Boorda
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-06-2013
Message 10 of 11 (109 Views)

Re: Extrusion in assembly

01-29-2014 03:20 PM in reply to: *Blair Stunder

The skeleton approach may work for some companies, but not for all.

For example, we do not directly insert skeleton files into our assemblies, we only include skeleton file parameters by linking through the parameter table. One reason for this is because we use a breakaway skeleton method in which the skeleton file is removed once the project is completed. This evolved from problems of skeleton files accidentally be changed and inadvertently updating other projects due to copy design issues from Vault. Linking the skeletons to many parts and assemblies via the parameter table allows the parameter name and dimension to remain intact and convert to manual entry parameters when the skeleton file is detached. When the skeleton files were included directly in the assembly and we removed the skeleton file from the project unresolved reference errors occurred on multitudes of assemblies within the project.

Bottom line is that a lot of people are asking about this and it would be nice to be able to extrude a surface in an assembly as a work feature. In a large company where we deal with thousands of parts efficiency is a huge issue. It's not very efficient to have to create an extra file for those who don't need to. It also leaves the door open for one more element to fail if that skeleton gets deleted or corrupt as opposed simply including the surface data in the assembly file with the other work features such as planes and axis.

Automation is key, but don't waste more time developing than what the automation is worth!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.