Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
drafter1411
Posts: 397
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 1 of 8 (169 Views)

extrude

169 Views, 7 Replies
07-09-2012 08:20 AM

Hello everyone, I'm having a problem extruding a part on one of my work stations. I have 21 work stations all the same computers T3400 Dell work stations. I can extrude the part on all except one of these stations. It keeps telling me that is not a closed object. I have downloaded service pack 2.

 

can you please help

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,930
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 8 (162 Views)

Re: extrude

07-09-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: drafter1411

Hi drafter1411,

 

That seems very odd. Maybe it's a graphics issue? I wouldn't expect that behavior though, but I guess you never know.

 

You might try this to rule out a graphics issue:

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/01/graphics-issues-application-options.html

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,905
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 8 (140 Views)

Re: extrude

07-09-2012 01:58 PM in reply to: drafter1411

drafter1411 wrote:

 It keeps telling me that is not a closed object. I have downloaded service pack 2.

 


Attach the ipt file here that exhibits this behavior.

Do the endpoints have coincident constraints?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
drafter1411
Posts: 397
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 4 of 8 (136 Views)

Re: extrude

07-09-2012 02:34 PM in reply to: drafter1411

It works well on the other computers just that one. Could there be a setting somewhere?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,905
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 8 (133 Views)

Re: extrude

07-09-2012 02:43 PM in reply to: drafter1411

Attach file here that exhibits this behavior on this computer.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
Yijiang.Cai
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 6 of 8 (112 Views)

Re: extrude

07-10-2012 02:21 AM in reply to: drafter1411

Could you send me the dataset to take a look @ river-yijiang.cai@autodesk.com?

 

Thanks,
River

Thanks,
River Cai

Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Mentor
drafter1411
Posts: 397
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 7 of 8 (78 Views)

Re: extrude

07-11-2012 08:33 AM in reply to: drafter1411

not sure what you mean "Data sheet"

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,905
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 8 (69 Views)

Re: extrude

07-11-2012 09:27 AM in reply to: drafter1411

DataSET, not "Data sheet".

The file you are working on that exhibits this behavior.

It will have the extension *.ipt

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.