Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

External Spreadsheet Controlled Assemblies

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
D.Gould
596 Views, 3 Replies

External Spreadsheet Controlled Assemblies

Hi, I work as a designer for a small engineering company and I have a question about assemblies that are linked to a spreadsheet.

We have an already existing "spreadsheet controlled" model of a frame that we use to produce models of products very quickly, based on only a small amount of data input from the customer.  The spreadsheet currently controls the length dimension of each member of the frame, it's very simple, but effective.  It gives us a full cutting list, price list and a nice picture to show the customer, within seconds.

Now, we're trying to make the same spreadsheet produce a model of the fully assembled item.  The full assembly includes: The welded frame model, component 1, component 2 and component 3.  I have no issue with component 1, because it only changes in size and in numbers, which I have been able to do using a component pattern, again controlled by the spreadsheet.  However, component 2 and 3 are causing a problem.  This is because they can be one of many different parts, rather than just being a larger or smaller version of the same part.

Basically, I am asking: Is there a way to get an already existing spreadsheet to tell Inventor to "include" or "exclude" specific parts in an assembly? 

Spreadsheet control is easy with the Parameters, so I can get the spreadsheet to alter the size of parts and their position within the assembly, but not to say whether or not a part is included.

I have looked at "iParts" and "iAssemblies", but cannot make a great deal of sense of a lot of it.

Thanks in advance!

Dan.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
joesbartels
in reply to: D.Gould