Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
edwardtg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-05-2012
Message 1 of 6 (176 Views)

EXISTING INVENTOR FILES WILL NOT OPEN IN SAME VERSION

176 Views, 5 Replies
10-05-2012 07:19 AM

Existing Inventor files will not open in the same version of Inventor in which they were created on the same pc.

The error message reads 'database schema is newer than this version of software'

A sample file is attached. Is there an answer to this other than having an expensive upgrade???

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,271
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 2 of 6 (165 Views)

Re: EXISTING INVENTOR FILES WILL NOT OPEN IN SAME VERSION

10-05-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: edwardtg

knowing what version you are using would help.

Member
edwardtg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-05-2012
Message 3 of 6 (158 Views)

Re: EXISTING INVENTOR FILES WILL NOT OPEN IN SAME VERSION

10-05-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: edwardtg

THE VERSION WE ARE USING IS 2011 - Does this make a difference? We have never used a later version to create files.

*Expert Elite*
harco
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Message 4 of 6 (150 Views)

Re: EXISTING INVENTOR FILES WILL NOT OPEN IN SAME VERSION

10-05-2012 07:52 AM in reply to: edwardtg

We're on 2011 and it opened fine here.

 

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 5 of 6 (146 Views)

Re: EXISTING INVENTOR FILES WILL NOT OPEN IN SAME VERSION

10-05-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: edwardtg

Try a repair install/reinstall?

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,271
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 6 of 6 (130 Views)

Re: EXISTING INVENTOR FILES WILL NOT OPEN IN SAME VERSION

10-05-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: edwardtg

edwardtg wrote:

THE VERSION WE ARE USING IS 2011 - Does this make a difference?


Since you provided a file for others to download and attempt to open...

 

Think about it...

 

If I'm on 2010, why should I waste my time and download your file just to see the same msg you are getting?

 

Does that help you?

 

That's the reason I won't bother downloading anything unless the version is stated.

 

Yes, it makes a difference.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/For-the-new-guy-s-in-the-discussion-group/m-p/363646...

 

I for one avoid the sig line.  If I have a question I'll post what version I'm using at the time I post the question.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.