Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
rodell
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-08-2002
Message 1 of 7 (70 Views)

Error 1722

70 Views, 6 Replies
11-07-2002 02:25 PM
Hello; Hope I'm in the right group. I'm trying to re-install Inventor 5.0 on my new Win2000 machine. During the installation I get an "Error 1722: There is a problem with this Windows Installer Package. A program run as a part of the setup did not finish as expected.." I can repair it and it will come up as successfully installed, but then I get an error when I try to execute the program. Anyone know what's going on and what I can do? Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
jiml
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 2 of 7 (70 Views)

Re: Error 1722

11-07-2002 10:11 PM in reply to: rodell
on the cd is a file msi.exe load that then load Inventor
Member
rodell
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-08-2002
Message 3 of 7 (70 Views)

Re:

11-08-2002 01:53 AM in reply to: rodell
thanks for the suggestion...however it didn't help. I found instmsiw.exe on the cd (no msi.exe) and installed it successfully, but got the same error on installation of Inventor. Even after I repair it and it says it was installed successfully, if I hover the mouse over the Inventor icon on the setup menu, it says that Inventor is not installed. It's been awhile, but if memory serves, when I first tried to install it, I aborted (legally by hitting cancel or something) for a reason that I can't recall, and then when I tried again I got this error. For that reason I've been assuming it had something to do with some remnant of the original install that it doesn't like. However I've uninstalled completely and gone throught the registry and deleted all "inventor" tags, so I don't know what to do at this point.
*darvinv
Message 4 of 7 (70 Views)

Re:

11-08-2002 02:23 AM in reply to: rodell
Have you tried copying the cd to a harddrive
directory (drive:\install_iv5) or some such? Also, make sure that there is no
"msiexec.exe" process left running in task manager. Kill and reboot should get
rid of it.

darvin
*Keller, Kent
Message 5 of 7 (70 Views)

Re:

11-08-2002 02:56 AM in reply to: rodell
This might have been about a slightly different problem but from a recent post in the R6
ng where someone was having trouble installing they had this to say

"Finnur P. Frodason" wrote in message
news:FB8E9DEE0C402677DADDC284858C7D39@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I fixed it.
> When I went to Regional settings in the Control Panel and chose English as
> default it worked.
>
> I would prefer to choose the EULA doc for myself as it used to be. Too much
> automation :-(

And here was the response from John Elliot before he got it working

"John Elliott - Autodesk" wrote in message
news:9DF9316B516609616030E0A649D8C6E9@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> This may show up on some systems.
> Find the Eula directory on the CD and copy it to C:\
>
> John


--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"rodell" wrote in message news:f1213fd.1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> thanks for the suggestion...however it didn't help. I found instmsiw.exe on the cd (no
msi.exe) and installed it successfully, but got the same error on installation of
Inventor. Even after I repair it and it says it was installed successfully, if I hover the
mouse over the Inventor icon on the setup menu, it says that Inventor is not installed.
It's been awhile, but if memory serves, when I first tried to install it, I aborted
(legally by hitting cancel or something) for a reason that I can't recall, and then when I
tried again I got this error. For that reason I've been assuming it had something to do
with some remnant of the original install that it doesn't like. However I've uninstalled
completely and gone throught the registry and deleted all "inventor" tags, so I don't know
what to do at this point.
Member
rodell
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-08-2002
Message 6 of 7 (70 Views)

Re:

11-08-2002 07:31 AM in reply to: rodell
Yea, it's been on the hard disk the whole time after the first couple of failures. And there's no msiexec.exe running either.
Thanks
Member
rodell
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-08-2002
Message 7 of 7 (70 Views)

Re:

11-08-2002 08:09 AM in reply to: rodell
It works! Problem seemed to be that I had pcAnywhere Host running on the system. I killed it and it installed.

Thanks everyone.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.