Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,212
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 11 of 24 (300 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-27-2013 07:55 PM in reply to: 19112033

Max,

After I looked at what Glen worked out, it appears that a portion of your formula is outside the range of -1 to +1,

 

In the (1-2*x/50) portion.... if x>0, then this would be greater than 1 and can't be evaluated.

 

Kirk

Contributor
19112033
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-23-2013
Message 12 of 24 (286 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 05:36 AM in reply to: karthur1

Thank you all for your replies. This is a really professional forum with great members.

 


karthur1 wrote:

Max,

After I looked at what Glen worked out, it appears that a portion of your formula is outside the range of -1 to +1,

 

In the (1-2*x/50) portion.... if x>0, then this would be greater than 1 and can't be evaluated.

 

Kirk


Well, if I insert 1 for x in this portion, the result is 0.96. If I insert 50, the result is 0.6. So all this should be in the possible range of -1 to +1. 

And you can calculate the arccos of 0.96 without problems, it's around 16.3. 

 

Could you explain to me how you came to the conclusion, that if you insert a value for x>0, you will get a result greater than 1?

 

Thanking you for your help,

Max

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,212
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 13 of 24 (276 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: 19112033

Max,

I made an error... if x<0 then the formula is greater than +1, which is outside the range of ACOS.

 

Kirk

Contributor
19112033
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-23-2013
Message 14 of 24 (266 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 11:41 AM in reply to: karthur1

No problem, nobody's perfect.

 

I've set the boundaries from xmin=0 to xmax=50, so there should be no negative value for x. So this part of the equation should not cause the error present in inventor. But what does? I can easily plot the function outside of autodesk, so the equation itself shouldn't be the problem. Even when I'm including dimensions, I get an error concerning the computation of the arcsine, complaining that something is out of the boundary range... But I can't find evidence for that.

 

I'm still unsure weather it is a problem with autodesk or with my equation.

 

Maybe I should note, that I can use this equation in other CAD programs, but can't get it to work with Inventor.

 

Looking forward to an answer,

Max

Valued Contributor
conklinjm
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎02-23-2009
Message 15 of 24 (262 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 11:59 AM in reply to: 19112033

See the last message on the end of the first page ...  GlennChun wrote:

 


 

Once the tmin and tmax are changed to -1 and 1, respectively, Inventor shows an error message:

 

acos_bug.png

 

I'm logging a defect against the above issue in ACOS and ASIN.  Defect number is 1510653.

 


 

So it seems that it is a problem with Inventor and not necessarily with your equation.

 

HTH

 

 

 

Employee
GlennChun
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-10-2004
Message 16 of 24 (249 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 01:21 PM in reply to: 19112033

Hi Max,

 

The Equation Curve command in Inventor does not take -1 or 1 as an input for the acos or asin function.  I logged a defect (1510653) yesterday against this issue.  The valid input values should be in the range of [-1, 1], but the Equation Curve command currently takes (-1, 1).

 

Since you set xmin to 0 and xmax to 50, the input for your acos, 1-2*x/50, ranges from 1 to -1, which are perfectly valid.  However, an error occurred in Inventor due to the defect in the Equation Curve command.  A workaround is that you set xmin to 0.000001 and xmax to 49.999999 so that the input for your acos can range from 0.999... to -0.999...  I recommend to define a user parameter for the tolerance in the Parameters dialog:

 

workaround_for_acos_asin_boundaries.png

 

Glenn

Autodesk T-Splines Component Development
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,212
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 17 of 24 (234 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 05:59 PM in reply to: GlennChun

Glen,

I was looking at this equation again. In the equation that the OP gave, he used a "length" variable in teh ACOS(x) function.  I noticed that you went ahead and substituted a hard number there (50mm). I was trying to work this out using the "length" variable and could not get it to work.  I noticed that when the length variable is <10, the function fails.  If I put 9.9mm in the denominator, I get this error.  Can you explain why?

 

2013-11-28_1945.png

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,212
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 18 of 24 (226 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 07:27 PM in reply to: 19112033

Max,

Here is a part that has your equation in it.  How does this compare to the results you were getting in the other grapher? 

 

No guarantee that this is 100% correct, but it does plot.

 

The length and width are user parameters that you can change.  In order for this to workthe length>50.  It also fails if the height is =1.0mm

 

Kirk

 

2013-11-28_2113.png

 

 

 

 

Employee
GlennChun
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎06-10-2004
Message 19 of 24 (218 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-28-2013 09:11 PM in reply to: karthur1

Hi Kirk,

 

In each of the attached parts, I added a variable 'length' in the Parameters and initially set it to 50.  The equation curve is correctly plotted when I changed the length to any positive number, such as 100, 10, 9.9, 5, and 1.

 

Explicit

 

length in mm

tol: 0.000001 mm

 

y(x):  acos(1 ul - 2 ul * x / length) / 1 rad

 

xmin:  tol

xmax: length - tol

 

Parametric

 

length in ul

tol: 0.000001 ul

 

x(t):  t

y(t):  acos(1 ul - 2 ul * t / length) / 1 rad

 

tmin:  tol

tmax:  length - tol

 

 

The length of the curve in Y direction is always 1.  The length of the curve in X direction is the value of the variable 'length' (more precisely, 'length' - 2 * tol).

 

Glenn

Autodesk T-Splines Component Development
Contributor
19112033
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-23-2013
Message 20 of 24 (197 Views)

Re: Equation driven curve - unit error

11-29-2013 06:35 AM in reply to: karthur1

Hi Glenn,

I used length, defined in Inventor as 50mm, as a placeholder for the value 50. Since I didn't want to mess around with the units, I repalced it with a hard value.

 

So, when I plot the function in a normal plotter, I get this result, which is as it should be:

plot.PNG

 

So I don't understand how you get these crazy shaped curves in the posts above.

 

Thank you for your help so far,

Max

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.