Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
kajobus
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
Message 1 of 10 (988 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

988 Views, 9 Replies
04-25-2013 02:26 AM

Novice question: I’ve done the Dynamic Simulation Tutorials http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/0126-Tutorial126/1111-Dynamic_1111 The tutorial mentions that by enabling the Dynamic Simulation Environment, Assembly constraints are automatically converted into Joints. Also: Grounded Folder & Mobile Group folders are created where components are placed in according to their state in the simulation. The tutorial carries on by explaining how to add joints manually. But it does not mention how to move a part from the Welded folder to the Mobile folder, or how to create a Mobile folder if all components have been placed automatically in the welded folder. The way I understand is that a joint can be placed between a grounded part and a mobile part, if both parts are welded or grounded, then the joint are deactivated. So the way I understand is to first get the parts in the correct mobile or welded folders. In the *.dwf the green plates are bolted down and the yellow plate swivel with the cylinders. All parts were automatically placed in 4 different welded groups nested in Grounded folder. Any help or link to a more complete tutorial will be appreciated. Regards

There should be a link in the main IAM browser window that if you RMB on it you can select delete/break link.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,249
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 10 (977 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

04-25-2013 04:00 AM in reply to: kajobus

What book are you using to learn Inventor Dynamic Simulation?

I recommend you get the Wasim Younis book.

 

You will need to completely re-think the way you apply assembly constraints so that they result in the correct Dynamic Simulation Joints if using the Automatic conversion function.

 

You might be better off starting out by not using the Automatic conversion and instead creating your own DS Joints until you fully understand them.  You must understand that in the DS environment you add Degrees of Freedom while in Assembly Environment you are removing DoF.

 

You might be able to "unweld" components by right clicking and select Retain DoF.  It would be more helpful to attach your actual Inventor assembly here rather than a dwfx.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
kajobus
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-23-2008
Message 3 of 10 (960 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

04-25-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: kajobus

Ok, I have re assembled my parts and got the desired result. As mentioned the tutorial I used till now is http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/0126-Tutorial126/1111-Dynamic_1111

I will have a look at the Wasim Younis book.   now I need some tips on the cylinder . . . Regards

Member
KyanL
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-10-2013
Message 4 of 10 (929 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

05-10-2013 01:01 PM in reply to: JDMather

Sorry idk how to post a new topic ...

 

Hi, i did a dynamic simulation on inventor 2012, (everything is fine) then i need to copy the project to make a new one but i cant figure out where to delete the simulation. That simulation is big and  i dont want to keep it with the project in future. If i dont copy the simulation it keep tellin me on assembly opening that link are broken. Basically i just want to know HOW TO DELETE A DYNAMIC SIMULATION. It seem woking with stress analysis.

 

Thanks KL

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,486
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 10 (917 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

05-10-2013 09:06 PM in reply to: KyanL

Open the Model, enter the Analysis tab for your model. The Browser Bar will now show your Simulation, RMB on the simulation and select Delete.

 

This will now delete the Sim link in the model.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Member
KyanL
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-10-2013
Message 6 of 10 (884 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

06-05-2013 01:30 PM in reply to: blair

Hi Blair, I tried what you said but it seem i dont get it or there is something mising in my model.

I openned my ASSEMBLY wich HAD BEEN COPIED 3 TIMES then i go on the RIBBON on the ENVIRONMENTS TAB, then i click DYNAMIC SIMULATION and it should open a simulation that i ALREADY did on the FIRST ORIGINAL version, but since then i modified the assembly 3 time and copy it, now under dynamic simulation in the browser bar i only see the name of the assembly, the grounded parts & the external load gravity. I click or right click everywhere and i cant find how to delete it. But when i delete the simulation folder, the next time i open the assembly it still ask me to link back all the simulation files. Those simulation files are about 700M and i dont want to keep them with the next job.

Thx for your time.

 

                                                                                                                                                KyanL

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,486
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (878 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

06-05-2013 02:06 PM in reply to: kajobus

Like this:

Capture1.JPG

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Member
KyanL
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-10-2013
Message 8 of 10 (861 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

06-06-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: blair

Hi Blair, I took a look at your picture and I understand that under Stress Analysis I can create a simulation and delete it by right clicking on the simulation on the browser bar. In my case i think i didnt explained it well, I did a Dynamic Simulation which is not the same button on my inventor interface, then i created a report for that Dynamic Simulation, I did reuse that assembly for another job but i still need to keep the simulation files with my assembly because when i open that assembly it keep asking me for files link resolution (those files are only simulation or report files), if i get back under Dynamic Simulation i cant find any way to unlink or delete the report/simulation, and under Stress Analysis i have no simulation at all. I think about redoing the whole assembly/parts and never touch a dynamic simulation again ...

If i cant unlink the report, ill have to keep around 700M of files for nothing on each next jobs. Now i really think its the report i want to unlink. Thanks again for your time.

 

                                                                                                                               Kyan

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,486
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (855 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

06-06-2013 09:58 AM in reply to: kajobus

There should be a link in the main IAM browser window that if you RMB on it you can select delete/break link.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Member
KyanL
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-10-2013
Message 10 of 10 (846 Views)

Re: Dynamic Simulation: Novice question

06-06-2013 10:47 AM in reply to: blair

Well thx again ... I had to break links not delete a simulation, i went on the ribbon under -tool- -options- -links- and there i find all those links i had to break.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.