Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DXF from a sketch

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
fairlaniac
425 Views, 6 Replies

DXF from a sketch

I need to make a DXF file for a newly aquired water jet machine here at work. It needsto be a polyline. How can I get the unextruded outline of the shape from my sketchm and convert to polyline and save as dxf? I'm fairly new to Inventor so excuse me if this is a simpel task.

thanks,

Doug

Doug
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
JDMather
in reply to: fairlaniac

Try this-

Select Convert to Sheet Metal (or do as sheet metal Face to begin with).

Click Flat Pattern (doesn't matter that it is already flat - create the flat pattern).

Right click on the Flat Pattern node and select Save Copy As type *.dxf

when going through the wizzard set it to convert the boundary into polyline.

I haven't tried this - so let me know if it works.

Update - I just tried it and it worked for me.  If it doesn't work on your part, can you attach the *.ipt file here?

Flat Pattern.PNG

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 7
mpatchus
in reply to: JDMather

You always seem to beat me to the post JD!!  Smiley Very Happy
Mike Patchus - Lancaster SC

Inventor 2025 Beta

Alienware m17, Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-10980HK CPU @ 2.40GHz 3.10 GHz, Win 11, 64gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. 🙂
Message 4 of 7
JDMather
in reply to: mpatchus

@mpatchus wrote:
You always seem to beat me to the post JD!!  Smiley Very Happy

You must be slowing down in your old age.