Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jrapert
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎10-24-2003
Message 1 of 8 (1,211 Views)

Drive constraint in 2013

1211 Views, 7 Replies
07-30-2012 07:37 PM

See attached screen shot.

To activate the new position of the assembly of approx 5k instances takes about 5 minutes in IV 2013 when using Drive constraint. The larger the assembly the longer it takes

In IV2011 takes about 10 seconds.

I've never seen the "Not responding" sign in Drive constraint window in previous versions.

I'm just wondering how can avoid this "New feature" of 2013.

Is anybody experienced this ?

 

Thanks

Julian

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
jrapert
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎10-24-2003
Message 2 of 8 (1,205 Views)

Re: Drive constraint in 2013

07-30-2012 07:42 PM in reply to: jrapert

Forgot the specs:

IV2013 Design Suite Premium

Windows7 Ultimate

12 GB RAM

1 GB NVidia Quadro 3700M graphics card

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,061
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 8 (1,199 Views)

Re: Drive constraint in 2013

07-30-2012 08:07 PM in reply to: jrapert

I have seen this as well in IV2013 on my systems. I don't recall it happening in IV2012. It seems like it gets lost trying to return the model back to the starting point/position.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Employee
Yijiang.Cai
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 4 of 8 (1,196 Views)

Re: Drive constraint in 2013

07-30-2012 08:22 PM in reply to: blair

I used one sample to experinece this, and it can't be reproduced. So could you attach the dataset for more invesigation?

 

Thanks,

 

Thanks,
River Cai

Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
jrapert
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎10-24-2003
Message 5 of 8 (1,175 Views)

Re: Drive constraint in 2013

07-31-2012 02:16 AM in reply to: Yijiang.Cai

The data set is too large to attach, also contains some proprietary details I can't disclose.

As I mentioned this issue only significant with large assemblies (5-10000 parts), but similar assembly in ver. 2011 did not have this problem. Seems to me that large assembly handling in 2013 is different to previous versions, and some operations significantly slower

Employee
johnsonshiue
Posts: 2,097
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 6 of 8 (1,145 Views)

Re: Drive constraint in 2013

08-01-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: jrapert

Hi! Without the dataset, it is extremely hard to tell where the problem is. I can provide a secure site for you to upload the large file. Please let me know via email if you would like to share.

In the meantime, could you help me answer the following questions?

1. What are the default settings in Tools->Application Options->Assembly in R2013 on your machine?

2. Could you try opening the same assembly and do Rebuild All (Manage -> Rebuild All)? What do you see?

3. Could you change Hardware setting to Compatibility mode (Tools->Application Options->Hardware) and see if it helps speed up?

Thanks!

 

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
jrapert
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎10-24-2003
Message 7 of 8 (1,124 Views)

Re: Drive constraint in 2013

08-01-2012 06:18 PM in reply to: johnsonshiue

Hi Johnson.

Thank you for your help

1 The default setting is as per attached screenshot. I've tried with different (unchecked) setting with no difference.

2 I've done  Rebuild all with no apparent problem in approx 5 minutes.

3  I'm running in Performance mode, tried Compatibility with no difference.

I'm sending you an email regarding the data set

 

Thanks

Julian

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 8 of 8 (1,091 Views)

Re: Drive constraint in 2013

08-09-2012 06:03 PM in reply to: jrapert

Can you try to uncheck the "Enable related constraint failure analysis" option and see whether it helps.

 

You could also try to increase the Page file size in Windows and Undo size in Inventor under Application options.

 

Hope it helps.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.