Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 1 of 9 (219 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dimensioning to a point in space

219 Views, 8 Replies
02-03-2014 07:33 AM

How do I create a dimension, like the 2 5/8" dimensions shown in my attachment,

on my Inventor drawing?

I am needing to show a dimension from the bottom of the part, to an intersection of a straight diagonal like and a radius.

Thank you for all your help.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013

Did you right click on the Work Point and select Include?

Include.png

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,264
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 9 (213 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 07:38 AM in reply to: sps_cad_guy

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-General/Sketch-Point-Visibility/td-p/4789173

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,627
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 3 of 9 (204 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 07:53 AM in reply to: sps_cad_guy

If there are 2 straight edges to the intersection, you can select it by selecting the first line > right-click > select "Intersection" > select the second line and then continue with the selection for the final dimension line.

 

--- and apologies for skimming... you stated the second selection is a radius...


Using IV2014 Pro SP2 - upd.1, Win7-64bit
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 4 of 9 (198 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 07:59 AM in reply to: JDMather

JD,

 

I've followed what you have spelled out, but when I go to my drawing, the work point is greyed out.

I've attached a screen shot.

What have I done wrong?

 

Thank you for your help.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 5 of 9 (195 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 08:01 AM in reply to: -niels-
Thank you....I understand the straight edge to straight edge, but in this case, I'm doing straight edge to radius and just doesn't seem to work.
Thanks for your help.
Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,264
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 9 (185 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 08:13 AM in reply to: sps_cad_guy

I noticed that you created a Grounded Work Point, that is not what I used in my example.

 

I assume you have a location in 2D sketch.  (if not, add sketch point)

Exit sketch and make the 2D sketch visible.

Create Work Point at the Sketch Point.

 

If you still have trouble - make up a sample dataset and attach here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 7 of 9 (175 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 08:35 AM in reply to: JDMather

I had grounded the point merely trying to figure out, on my own, why the work point was greyed out.

I've attached my part file, but everything was created as normal for me.

I started with a sheet metal sketch. Made my sketch on front plane, and used "Face" for my thickness.

After your initial reply, I went back and made the sketch visible and then added the work point.

Again, thank you very much for your help.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,264
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 9 (166 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 08:49 AM in reply to: sps_cad_guy

Did you right click on the Work Point and select Include?

Include.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
sps_cad_guy
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 9 of 9 (162 Views)

Re: Dimensioning to a point in space

02-03-2014 08:53 AM in reply to: JDMather

No I had not.

Thank you so very much for walking me through this.

Lenovo Think Pad
Windows 7 SP 1
64 Bit.
Inventor 2013
ACAD Mechanical 2013
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.