Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 1 of 4 (142 Views)

Dimension question

142 Views, 3 Replies
11-08-2012 11:50 AM

Hello Inventor users

I have a dimensioning problem. I have dimensions tha I cannot modify as I normally do. I do not

know what setting is stopping me but here is what it is doing. I add a dimension to a part. I then

edit it to add 2X in front if it. It will then put it on top of the dimension. If I put it behind the text, it

then goes beneath the dimension. There is no way to add text and it would actually appear on

the same line as the dimension. Pretty weird. I have never seen this before. I have searched

all the settings that I can think of to no avail.  Thanks for your help.

Randy

Inventor 2013    Windows 7

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 4 (135 Views)

Re: Dimension question

11-08-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: rgraham817

Can you post a screenshot?  I'm guessing the dimension is very small and there is not enough space to put the text in line. 

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 3 of 4 (123 Views)

Re: Dimension question

11-08-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: rgraham817

Randy,

Welcome to the forum.

I add "2X" type text all the time to my dimensions, but I am doing it in my drawing editing the dimension.

Plus my dimensions are usually imported from my model.

Are you doing this in the part sketch mode, or in the drawing?

I agree that some images would be useful.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
rgraham817
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-13-2010
Message 4 of 4 (122 Views)

Re: Dimension question

11-08-2012 12:16 PM in reply to: cbenner

Thanks

I just found it. It was in Styles, Dimensions, Text

On the bottom line where there is Prefix, Suffix, Deg dropdown, there is two blue boxes that determine

if the text is on the sides or on the top and bottom.

 

Thanks anyway

 

Randy

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.