Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Machado
Posts: 210
Registered: ‎12-15-2005
Message 1 of 9 (271 Views)

Dimension in Isometric drawing views

271 Views, 8 Replies
04-07-2006 03:03 PM
HI, everyone.

Can someone tell if it is possible to put dimensions in isometric drawing views in Inventor, and how to do it?

Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
RonnieWilkins
Posts: 454
Registered: ‎04-07-2003
Message 2 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-07-2006 03:07 PM in reply to: Machado
Not possible.

This would be one of those rare times where you would want to use AutoCAD Mechanical with the Inventor Link.
Ronnie Wilkins, Jr.
AMS CAD + CAFM Solutions
Sr. Solutions Developer
Autodesk Certified Instructor: Inventor
*Ken
Message 3 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-08-2006 04:32 PM in reply to: Machado
Thank your lucky stars you receive 3 CAD systems with your Inventor
purchase! If one won't do it, try another! Kind of makes the "ease of use"
factor fly out the window when you have to jump between 3 different software
packages doesn't it? Does it make it more difficult for a follow-up user to
decipher where the drawing is? I would think that he would be expecting an
Inventor drawing and thus wouldn't think to look for a MDT file.

Ken
wrote in message news:5136531@discussion.autodesk.com...
Not possible.

This would be one of those rare times where you would want to use AutoCAD
Mechanical with the Inventor Link.
*KevinE
Message 4 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-09-2006 07:12 PM in reply to: Machado
Do you have nothing better to do with your time? You constantly come here
and take shots at Inventor. Do you really think it will do any good? What
brand of vehicle to you drive? Please let us know. I'll probably run right
out and buy one of those too. If you are driving one it must be the greatest
there is.

Does se do things that Inventor doesn't? Probably. Does Inventor do things
that se doesn't? I don't know for sure, but I am willing to bet the answer
is yes. What is your point? You come here and 99% of the time you offer
nothing other than pointing out that either parasolid or se is better than
Inventor. I believe this has been pointed out to you before, but this is a
forum designed for users to help other users with Inventor problems. If you
want to read what is going on here fine. If you want to constructively
answer questions fine, but if you are here to just stir things up, then just
go back to your se forums. Maybe you can go back there and have a discussion
about where the development ceiling in se will stop since your software
company has a bigger brother product that they would rather have you buy.

It's getting old, find yourself a new home.

Kevin




"Ken" wrote in message
news:5136873@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thank your lucky stars you receive 3 CAD systems with your Inventor
purchase! If one won't do it, try another! Kind of makes the "ease of use"
factor fly out the window when you have to jump between 3 different software
packages doesn't it? Does it make it more difficult for a follow-up user to
decipher where the drawing is? I would think that he would be expecting an
Inventor drawing and thus wouldn't think to look for a MDT file.

Ken
wrote in message news:5136531@discussion.autodesk.com...
Not possible.

This would be one of those rare times where you would want to use AutoCAD
Mechanical with the Inventor Link.
*Ken
Message 5 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-09-2006 09:19 PM in reply to: Machado
Kevin,
The only one mentioning a competing product was you. I ,on the other
hand, am simply asking questions that any potential/current Inventor user
should ask. Can you answer the questions concerning the need of 2 other CAD
systems to document solid models produced in Inventor as the user "rwilkins"
suggested?

If you don't have answers for the questions, why are you posting? To
suggest the competitive product that you mentioned? Since you brought it
up, can it place accurate dimensions on iso views? If you can find out if
it does, would you be so kind as to let me know?

And I can understand your concern about a "ceiling" existing in an
application when there is a sister product that may already have the desired
capability. Kind of like wanting to place dimensions in an iso view in a
particular application and the functionality not being added because it
already exists in an older complementary product!

Have a nice day! I am looking forward to your CONSTRUCTIVE reply.

Ken
"KevinE" wrote in message
news:5137134@discussion.autodesk.com...
Do you have nothing better to do with your time? You constantly come here
and take shots at Inventor. Do you really think it will do any good? What
brand of vehicle to you drive? Please let us know. I'll probably run right
out and buy one of those too. If you are driving one it must be the greatest
there is.

Does se do things that Inventor doesn't? Probably. Does Inventor do things
that se doesn't? I don't know for sure, but I am willing to bet the answer
is yes. What is your point? You come here and 99% of the time you offer
nothing other than pointing out that either parasolid or se is better than
Inventor. I believe this has been pointed out to you before, but this is a
forum designed for users to help other users with Inventor problems. If you
want to read what is going on here fine. If you want to constructively
answer questions fine, but if you are here to just stir things up, then just
go back to your se forums. Maybe you can go back there and have a discussion
about where the development ceiling in se will stop since your software
company has a bigger brother product that they would rather have you buy.

It's getting old, find yourself a new home.

Kevin




"Ken" wrote in message
news:5136873@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thank your lucky stars you receive 3 CAD systems with your Inventor
purchase! If one won't do it, try another! Kind of makes the "ease of use"
factor fly out the window when you have to jump between 3 different software
packages doesn't it? Does it make it more difficult for a follow-up user to
decipher where the drawing is? I would think that he would be expecting an
Inventor drawing and thus wouldn't think to look for a MDT file.

Ken
wrote in message news:5136531@discussion.autodesk.com...
Not possible.

This would be one of those rare times where you would want to use AutoCAD
Mechanical with the Inventor Link.
*John-IV8SP1
Message 6 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-10-2006 07:19 AM in reply to: Machado
Ken,

I started this post about three times.

Please read the newsgroup guidelines.

Go crawl back in your hole. KevinE has a respectable reputation here. On the
other hand, we ALL know you're a SE shill, and we all know your basic
tactics. KevinE is so right. Don't try to spin it the other direction. Do
you REALLY want to benefit this newsgroup? Then, please disappear for once
and for all.

Moderators: Feel free to remove mine and the last 3 posts - they contain no
value whatsoever.



"Ken" wrote in message
news:5137196@discussion.autodesk.com...
Kevin,
The only one mentioning a competing product was you. I ,on the other
hand, am simply asking questions that any potential/current Inventor user
should ask. Can you answer the questions concerning the need of 2 other CAD
systems to document solid models produced in Inventor as the user "rwilkins"
suggested?

If you don't have answers for the questions, why are you posting? To
suggest the competitive product that you mentioned? Since you brought it
up, can it place accurate dimensions on iso views? If you can find out if
it does, would you be so kind as to let me know?

And I can understand your concern about a "ceiling" existing in an
application when there is a sister product that may already have the desired
capability. Kind of like wanting to place dimensions in an iso view in a
particular application and the functionality not being added because it
already exists in an older complementary product!

Have a nice day! I am looking forward to your CONSTRUCTIVE reply.

Ken
"KevinE" wrote in message
news:5137134@discussion.autodesk.com...
Do you have nothing better to do with your time? You constantly come here
and take shots at Inventor. Do you really think it will do any good? What
brand of vehicle to you drive? Please let us know. I'll probably run right
out and buy one of those too. If you are driving one it must be the greatest
there is.

Does se do things that Inventor doesn't? Probably. Does Inventor do things
that se doesn't? I don't know for sure, but I am willing to bet the answer
is yes. What is your point? You come here and 99% of the time you offer
nothing other than pointing out that either parasolid or se is better than
Inventor. I believe this has been pointed out to you before, but this is a
forum designed for users to help other users with Inventor problems. If you
want to read what is going on here fine. If you want to constructively
answer questions fine, but if you are here to just stir things up, then just
go back to your se forums. Maybe you can go back there and have a discussion
about where the development ceiling in se will stop since your software
company has a bigger brother product that they would rather have you buy.

It's getting old, find yourself a new home.

Kevin




"Ken" wrote in message
news:5136873@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thank your lucky stars you receive 3 CAD systems with your Inventor
purchase! If one won't do it, try another! Kind of makes the "ease of use"
factor fly out the window when you have to jump between 3 different software
packages doesn't it? Does it make it more difficult for a follow-up user to
decipher where the drawing is? I would think that he would be expecting an
Inventor drawing and thus wouldn't think to look for a MDT file.

Ken
wrote in message news:5136531@discussion.autodesk.com...
Not possible.

This would be one of those rare times where you would want to use AutoCAD
Mechanical with the Inventor Link.
*Kent Keller
Message 7 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-10-2006 08:32 AM in reply to: Machado
Ok, guys. Time to move on. The answer to Machado's question was answered by
rwilkins, and that should have been the end of it.


--
Kent Keller
Autodesk Discussion Forum Facilitator
Distinguished Contributor
RonnieWilkins
Posts: 454
Registered: ‎04-07-2003
Message 8 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-10-2006 04:31 PM in reply to: Machado
And since when does using AutoCAD M constitute "2 other CAD packages"? Inventor Series is one package, and about the only time I'll ever use AutoCAD M is if I really, truly had to create a dimensioned isometric which to tell you the truth never have had too.
Ronnie Wilkins, Jr.
AMS CAD + CAFM Solutions
Sr. Solutions Developer
Autodesk Certified Instructor: Inventor
*Ken
Message 9 of 9 (271 Views)

Re: Dimension in Isometric drawing views

04-10-2006 08:30 PM in reply to: Machado
My mistake, I thought they were shipping AutoCAD and Mechanical Desktop with
Inventor.

Ken
wrote in message news:5138280@discussion.autodesk.com...
And since when does using AutoCAD M constitute "2 other CAD packages"?
Inventor Series is one package, and about the only time I'll ever use
AutoCAD M is if I really, truly had to create a dimensioned isometric which
to tell you the truth never have had too.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!