Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ohunome
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 1 of 9 (60 Views)

Dimension bug!

60 Views, 8 Replies
08-06-2004 08:13 AM
OMG I have multiple dimensions with the same name in my sketch. How in the world is this suppose to work?
Distinguished Contributor
ohunome
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 2 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 09:09 AM in reply to: ohunome
Illustration of proof!
Distinguished Contributor
tahdesign
Posts: 1,260
Registered: ‎08-06-2004
Message 3 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 10:28 AM in reply to: ohunome
How did this happen?
If they were TRUELY the same d dimenion then their values would have to match.
Not only in that skecth but for all sketches in the whole part.
Are these tied to any type of custom paramenter?
Distinguished Contributor
tahdesign
Posts: 1,260
Registered: ‎08-06-2004
Message 4 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 10:31 AM in reply to: ohunome
Try looking in the sketch mode, try looking at the Parameters dialog box to see how these two d5 dimension might be different.
Distinguished Contributor
ohunome
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 5 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 10:39 AM in reply to: ohunome
I can't get access to the parameters table. This problem arose when I was in a "sketch" of a "sketch symbol" in a "idw" file. I thought one was able to get access to the parameter table in previous versions but I can't seem to locate it now. I could be going crazy too (wouldn't be the first time).
*Sam Bixler
Message 6 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 10:53 AM in reply to: ohunome
I have noticed the same problem; it causes lots of sick dimensions when you try to use one for reference! -- Sam Bixler Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis "ohunome" wrote in message news:18240274.1091808576526.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Illustration of proof!
Distinguished Contributor
ohunome
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 7 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 11:04 AM in reply to: ohunome
I really hope there's a hot fix for this one because it's needed really bad right now.
*TomM
Message 8 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 11:15 AM in reply to: ohunome
This appears to only be happening when making or editing a sketched symbol. The new name seems to take preference over the old dimension name. So if you use a name to drive another dimension it usues the latest one created, unless it was already referenced by the previously created dimension. It would be a disaster if this was the case in sketch mode when creating a part..... Tom "ohunome" wrote in message news:14371562.1091805259969.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > OMG I have multiple dimensions with the same name in my sketch. How in the world is this suppose to work?
*Kent Keller
Message 9 of 9 (60 Views)

Re: Dimension bug!

08-06-2004 01:27 PM in reply to: ohunome
This is probably related to the issue I brought up back in the thread titled Dimension Relationships in IDW SketchMode IDW Sketches seem to only keep track of the d#'s until you exit the sketch. If you come back and try to relate a dim to another one, it won't do it as I showed in a AVI,. -- Kent Keller http://www.KWiKMcad.com Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator "tahdesign" wrote in message news:6991852.1091813353582.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > How did this happen? > If they were TRUELY the same d dimenion then their values would have to match. > Not only in that skecth but for all sketches in the whole part. > Are these tied to any type of custom paramenter?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!