Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
mies07
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 1 of 13 (557 Views)

Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

557 Views, 12 Replies
10-24-2011 04:40 PM

Can someone please tell me how to create the dimension shown in an idw? Thanks.

Bevel Dim.jpg

Product Support
alessandro.gasso
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 2 of 13 (523 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-25-2011 08:33 AM in reply to: mies07

I hope you can find useful the video attached.

 

Kind regards,

Alessandro



Alessandro Gasso
Product Support Technical Lead
MFG - Inventor
Autodesk, Inc.
Mentor
Doug_DuPont
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 3 of 13 (515 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-25-2011 10:52 AM in reply to: mies07

You can put a horiz dimension from the 2 points and then right click on the dimension and select align to edge and pick the angled line.

Douglas DuPont
Inventor 2013
GeForce GTX 580
Windows 7 64 Bit
Mentor
mies07
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎03-16-2006
Message 4 of 13 (490 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-25-2011 06:16 PM in reply to: Doug_DuPont

Align to edge? I get no such option when right clicking the dim... perhaps a screen shot?

Mentor
Doug_DuPont
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 5 of 13 (465 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-26-2011 04:25 AM in reply to: mies07

Your right, I had confused that with the center line align to edge. Sorry.

Sounds like a good wish list item.

Douglas DuPont
Inventor 2013
GeForce GTX 580
Windows 7 64 Bit
Distinguished Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 535
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 6 of 13 (446 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-26-2011 05:55 PM in reply to: alessandro.gasso

That's just brilliant! Sorry, I can't thank you for your effort. Your video is just a poor workaround to the problem existed in Inventor from the day one. What if you have to dimension more then one trace like that? You guys should hook up for a lunch with your friends at AutoCAD team and find out in details how Align UCS tool works in AutoCAD. Then introduce that very tool in Inventor drawing environment. That is a solution to the dimensioning problem discussed, not the auxiliary sketch workaround.

Best Regards,

Igor.

 


alessandro.gasso wrote:

I hope you can find useful the video attached.

 

Kind regards,

Alessandro

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Contributor
ianmacleanllc
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-22-2010
Message 7 of 13 (443 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-26-2011 06:34 PM in reply to: IgorMir

this one gets me as well.... i gues they have never worked on the shop floor.

my saw operator is always asking for "long point to long point" 

 

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,420
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 8 of 13 (430 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-27-2011 04:21 AM in reply to: mies07

Can you post the drawing?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Valued Mentor
Martin_Goodland
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎07-15-2005
Message 9 of 13 (414 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-27-2011 05:20 AM in reply to: mies07

You can add workpoints in the part model, then bring these points into the drawing, align them to the desired edge and dimension between them. I find this neater than adding sketches to the drawing views as I have had instances where the sketches in the .idw don't update and the dimensions then become incorrect.

 

Still not as neat as an 'align to edge' option though.......

 

Regards

 

Martin


PDSU 2014 SP1.3
Windows 7 64bit SP1, Office 2007 Pro
Intel i7 980x, 24 Gb DDR3 RAM
Geforce 760GTX Graphics (Diver 337.88)
256GB SSD OS, 80GB SSD working folder
Space Pilot
Contributor
julesgf
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
Message 10 of 13 (410 Views)

Re: Dimension Beveled Tube Ends

10-27-2011 05:30 AM in reply to: mies07

I have noticed that (at least in recent versions) you can use the "chain" dimension type (not chain set) to achieve this.

place the dimension by hitting chain -> click on the line parallel to the dimension to be placed -> place as an aligned dimension -> RMB create -> drag one end of the dimension out to the long end of the bevel.

Dimension remains aligned to the first selected line (unlike a general dimension that will become a point to point when dragged to bevel end)

See attached (pretty rough quality :smileyhappy:) video)...

Drove me mad till I discovered it.

 

Cheers

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.