Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,264
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 1 of 4 (378 Views)
Accepted Solution

Diameter Dimensions in Sketches

378 Views, 3 Replies
12-29-2011 04:46 AM

When I create a sketch for a revolved feature, how does one create a diameter dimension

instead of a radius dimension?  While it is nice that you dont need an axis to revolve around,

I am used to having one and when I select the axis then the outer edge and drag the dimension

to the opposite side of the axis from which the outside edge is it automatically creates the diameter

dimension.  In the INventor sketch mode this is not happening.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

In the sketch, select or create a line, or datum (or project geometry as we discussed in oyur other post) which will serve as your axis.... you can then turn that into a "centerline".  If you dimension to that centerline, your dimensions will become diameters.  The other way to do this without creating a centerline is to select your dimension entities, and before you drop the dimension, right click.  You should see choices for "linear radius" and "linear diameter".

 

project.JPG

 

 

cent.JPG

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,264
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 4 (375 Views)

Re: Diameter Dimensions in Sketches

12-29-2011 05:00 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Never mind, I figured it out.  Didn't realize in order to accomplish this one still needs to create a centerline.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,255
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 4 (371 Views)

Re: Diameter Dimensions in Sketches

12-29-2011 05:02 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

In the sketch, select or create a line, or datum (or project geometry as we discussed in oyur other post) which will serve as your axis.... you can then turn that into a "centerline".  If you dimension to that centerline, your dimensions will become diameters.  The other way to do this without creating a centerline is to select your dimension entities, and before you drop the dimension, right click.  You should see choices for "linear radius" and "linear diameter".

 

project.JPG

 

 

cent.JPG

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,264
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 4 (362 Views)

Re: Diameter Dimensions in Sketches

12-29-2011 06:01 AM in reply to: cbenner

Thank you.  I think I figured it out based on what you showed me.

Man, is that a lot of steps!!! :smileysad:

Seems to me this could be made simpler.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.