Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
greg
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-07-2007
Message 1 of 5 (227 Views)

Dialog box positioning problems

227 Views, 4 Replies
04-28-2011 10:55 AM

I have numerous dialog boxes not remembering last closed position. And worse, they are jumping to the upper left side of the main AIP window while I'm using them. (AIP maximized or windowed)

I've been having problems with dialog boxes as far back as I can remember, at least since AIP2008.

AIP2012 has become much worse with dialogs jumping to the left side of the main window while I'm using them.

 

Example:

While editing a part in sketch mode.

Open 'Edit Dimension' dialog. It shows up at the upper left side of the main AIP window.

I move it to another location ease of use. As I'm using it, it jumps back to the upper left side of the main AIP window.

 

The list of dialogs behaving this way are many.

Why is this happening?

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,387
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 2 of 5 (223 Views)

Re: Dialog box positioning problems

04-28-2011 11:06 AM in reply to: greg

not sure how to fix this, but is it possible you use dual monitors?  Am thinking it's trying to position the windows on the 2nd monitor but when it can not find it, they possibly behave as you are seeing it.

Active Member
greg
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-07-2007
Message 3 of 5 (208 Views)

Re: Dialog box positioning problems

04-28-2011 02:39 PM in reply to: greg

Thank you for your quick response.

I have 4 monitor system.

AIP main window on monitor 1

AIP browser & ribbon undocked and on monitor 2

Image below shows the iLogic dialog behaving while the Edit Sheet dialog behaving as I described in the original post.

Image3.jpg

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,387
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 4 of 5 (183 Views)

Re: Dialog box positioning problems

04-29-2011 06:36 AM in reply to: greg

4?  wow!  Do you experience any neck problems turning your head so much?!?!   just kidding.

 

something tells me this is related to the number of monitors, but I wouldn't know where to begin.

 

I recall yrs ago where Acad would work with multiple monitors, but not everything worked exactly like it should - some windows wouldn't stay docked correctly on a second monitor and IRC, the fix was to have an edge of the troublesome windows slightly on the default or main monitor.  Then those windows would hold their position.

 

Been yrs now since I used a dual monitor system, but am wondering if you do in fact have the main AIP window on monitor #1.  I remember in the Display Properties window in WinXP, on one of those tabs, there was a graphic representation of multiple monitors, and each one would have a number on it.  Not sure if that would be the same in Win7 or Vista.  But how have you confirmed AIP is on #1?

 

Sorry can't be of much assistance here.

Distinguished Contributor
csmac2004
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎03-03-2004
Message 5 of 5 (101 Views)

Re: Dialog box positioning problems

11-08-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: greg

Hi there!

 

Did you ever get resolution to this problem? We're seeing similar results with dialogs not staying docked, although they are consistently coming back in the middle of the screen rather than jumping off entirely.

 

We are Windows 7, dual monitors. We've tried updating graphics drivers and even repairing Inventor to no avail (the dialogs were staying docked yesterday, this morning a driver update happened and now we're seeing these issues). Thanks!

 

Scott MacDonald
Inventor 2013 Product Design Suite
Vault Professional 2013
Windows7 x64
Autodesk Inventor Certified Professional
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.