Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jimlong50
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Message 1 of 6 (230 Views)
Accepted Solution

Desktop 2009

230 Views, 5 Replies
07-09-2013 05:31 AM

Can Mechanical Desktop 2009 be installed with Inventor 2013?

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 2 of 6 (228 Views)

Re: Desktop 2009

07-09-2013 05:33 AM in reply to: jimlong50

Yes,

 

I have also had it running with 2014.  You just need to make certain your subscription agreement entitles you to the license.

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 598
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 3 of 6 (219 Views)

Re: Desktop 2009

07-09-2013 05:42 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

and if you're talking MDT + Iv2014, then I'm guessing you're on Win7?  or have you got MDT to work with Win8?  just out of interest.

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Active Member
jimlong50
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Message 4 of 6 (212 Views)

Re: Desktop 2009

07-09-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: sam_m

Yes I am running Windows 7. Our subscription license supports legacy Inventor 2009 files. Do I need to install an older version of Inventor, such as 2012, to be able to install Desktop 2009?

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 5 of 6 (183 Views)

Re: Desktop 2009

07-09-2013 07:36 AM in reply to: jimlong50

I did not have to.  I only had 2013 installed when I put it in.  Now there is a special installer for Inventor 2013 and later.  It is a special MDT2009 installer to do it.  Otherwise it will look for an older Inventor first.

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Active Member
jimlong50
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Message 6 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: Desktop 2009

07-09-2013 09:45 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

Mark,

 

Thank you for the information. One last question. Where can I download this installer? I have 3 stations that are running Inventor 2014 and one that is still at 2013. I looked on the Autodesk web site but couldn't find anything.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.