Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
phoebus.biron
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 11 of 15 (644 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Renaming Files

11-02-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: john.retzlaff

When I change the part name (.ipt) in DA, then open the assembly, it works fine.  DA is able to fix the link between the assembly and the update part name (.ipt)

 

The issue I am having, is how to...at the same time...have the other referenced files link to the new part name.

 

Scenario. 

 

I have A.ipt.

 

This is used in A.iam (assembly file), and A.idw (drawing file)

 

So...lets say I change the part number from A.ipt to B.ipt  (I dont care about the iProperties Part name, I am talking file name here with the proper extension.)

 

When I open A.iam (assembly file), the new part B.ipt is referenced.  The changes in DA have worked..but

 

when I open A.idw (drawing file)...the link is not there and I have to find that referenced part in the "Resolve Link" window.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Valued Mentor
japike
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎02-06-2004
Message 12 of 15 (636 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Renaming Files

11-02-2012 12:07 PM in reply to: phoebus.biron

In the lower pane of Design Assistant, in the action column, have you tried selecting "Update" for your drawing?

Peace,
Jeff
Inventor 2013
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 935
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 13 of 15 (635 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Renaming Files

11-02-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: phoebus.biron

11-2-2012 2-06-51 PM.png

John Retzlaff
Active Member
phoebus.biron
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 14 of 15 (624 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Renaming Files

11-02-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

Ahh.  Now that I didn't try.  I will try and see if that works.  Thank you.

Active Member
phoebus.biron
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 15 of 15 (618 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Renaming Files

11-02-2012 01:20 PM in reply to: phoebus.biron

Thank you guys.  That worked.  That is definitely a detailed step that should be added to the Wiki site.  If it was on there, I definitely missed it.  Thanks again.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.