Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
johnster100
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 1 of 4 (302 Views)

Demote Solid bodies to Sub Assemblies

302 Views, 3 Replies
12-05-2012 02:42 AM

Hi There,

I have an assembly file for a fan casing. We reuse this model and scale it up and doen depending on the size of fan.

 

For transportation we split the caing into several parts and join using flanges. The number and angle of splits changes depending on the job and geometry.

 

To model this we share a sketch through the parts and use the split solid command to split them.

 

I would like to able to create sub assemblies from the main assembly so that drawings and masses can be obtained for the sub assemblies. However, the 'Demote' command does not allow you pick individual solids from a multi solid part.

 

I have tried creating new parts from the split solids but these are not in the correct location as they are not constrained correctly.

 

Is there a way to use the Demote command as I am proposing? or is there a different method to split my parts?

 

thanks,

John

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,602
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (288 Views)

Re: Demote Solid bodies to Sub Assemblies

12-05-2012 05:11 AM in reply to: johnster100

johnster100 wrote:

 

I have tried creating new parts from the split solids but these are not in the correct location as they are not constrained correctly.

John


I don't understand this statement.  Can you post an example dataset here?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
johnster100
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
Message 3 of 4 (284 Views)

Re: Demote Solid bodies to Sub Assemblies

12-05-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: johnster100

hi,

I have tried using the 'Make Part' and 'Make Components' tool. But this makes new parts which if put into the assembly have to be reconstrained.

 

thanks again,

John

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,602
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 4 (273 Views)

Re: Demote Solid bodies to Sub Assemblies

12-05-2012 06:32 AM in reply to: johnster100

johnster100 wrote:

hi,

I have tried using the 'Make Part' and 'Make Components' tool. But this makes new parts which if put into the assembly have to be reconstrained.

 

thanks again,

John


Use Make Components and set it to create an assembly of the new components (this is the default).
All of the parts in this assembly will be grounded in the same position they are in the master multi-body file.

This is most likely what you want.  If there is any motion you want, then unground appropriate parts and add constraints.

Because everything was modeled in body postition - everthing can be grounded that doesn't move.  If you change the master - the assembly will update.

 

Use this assembly as a sub-assembly in your main assembly.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.