Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
hans.martin.haga
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 7 (287 Views)

Default Template Units - Setting stored where?

287 Views, 6 Replies
11-13-2012 12:23 AM

Where is the configuration for the Default Template Measurement units stored? Have tried creating an application options file, but on the clients this setting is not read/stored (still set to inches after import).

 

Is this setting stored in the registry? Where?

 

...and why does Inventor default to a non metric measurement unit? :smileytongue:

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,356
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 7 (272 Views)

Re: Default Template Units - Setting stored where?

11-13-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: hans.martin.haga

My understanding is these settings are controlled in the styles editor.  Where you can have more then one standard established with different units settings.  Then these styles are controlled (location) by the master project file.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 3 of 7 (264 Views)

Re: Default Template Units - Setting stored where?

11-13-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: hans.martin.haga

You can configure the default templates for the drawing standard and default unit from the Welcome Screen at startup.

 

John Retzlaff
Distinguished Contributor
hans.martin.haga
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 4 of 7 (236 Views)

Re: Default Template Units - Setting stored where?

11-14-2012 06:09 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I know how to set this in Application Options, and how to establish a set of template files with metric settings.

However, after importing application options from a file, settings for the default template units are not set/changed.

 

This does not seem to affect creating new files, as the correct metric template files are used.

I am, however, concerned that the template units settings are used for other purposes in Inventor as well? 

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 7 (235 Views)

Re: Default Template Units - Setting stored where?

11-14-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: hans.martin.haga

Drawing template?  Part?  Assembly?  But if I understand your question correctly, you're asking about the setting that controls which set of templates is available, which you set by clicking on the Configure Default Templates... button on the File tab in App Options (or the same button in the Welcome! box).

 

I don't know whether that option is actually stored anywhere.  The effect it has is to switch which set of templates is placed in the Templates folder, which then become the Standard choices that you have.  Both sets (Inch & Metric) are kept in subfolders under the Templates folder, and are swapped into the top folder when the setting is changed.

 

Our templates are customized, so we never touch that button.

Distinguished Contributor
hans.martin.haga
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 6 of 7 (231 Views)

Re: Default Template Units - Setting stored where?

11-14-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: sbixler

Template files for all new files, not only drawings. Sorry.

 

Everything is ok, metric files are used. Only thing is that the dialog box shows inches and bsi, even though we have changed it to metric and iso on the computer we exported the application options from.

 

 

 

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 7 of 7 (226 Views)

Re: Default Template Units - Setting stored where?

11-14-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: hans.martin.haga

I think that you will need to change it individually on every computer (or during the installation).

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.