Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
kvfertig
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2014
Message 1 of 4 (152 Views)
Accepted Solution

Default Template Messed Up?

152 Views, 3 Replies
03-30-2014 06:48 PM

Heyo, so I'm a freshman high schooler (please keep this in mind when responding), so I'm not a professional at Inventor or anything. My engineering coach (I go to a STEM school so we call teachers coaches) installed Autodesk Inventor 2014 onto my Windows 7 i7 laptop (8GB RAM?). Anyways, after Inventor started bugging me, I started searching around. I think that my Default Template is messed up. I guess that's where customization happens? Anyways, it started when I tried downloading and converting a DXF 3D sketch into an IPT through TrueViewer. Some error always happened mentioning a default template, so I decided to make the linear actuator piece myself. When I clicked "New," the image was all weird unlike the desktops that have Inventor in my engineering classroom. The link to the distortion is here: http://imgur.com/gusm9OW. What I think is a hyperlink doesn't seem to work. I can go around it pretty easily, but it's a bit annoying. The final straw was when I noticed my dimensions were weird after two hours of work. When I went to change them, it was on centimeters! I figured out how to go to Options -> FIle -> Configure Defaut Template (Thank you Autodesk Community!), but it said the default WAS in inches. I tried restarting the program, but the same thing happened. It's stuck in cm and I have to use a conversion. So anyways, does anyone have any clue on what's wrong with my Inventor/Default Template? I think maybe some important file was touched in my computer, but I don't know. Before I go to my engineering coach I wanted

Member
kvfertig
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2014
Message 2 of 4 (150 Views)

Re: Default Template Messed Up?

03-30-2014 06:49 PM in reply to: kvfertig

*wanted to ask you guys about it.

 

 

Thanks!

 

-Kyle

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,028
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 4 (125 Views)

Re: Default Template Messed Up?

03-30-2014 07:59 PM in reply to: kvfertig

here is a fresh set of Inventor 2014 stock templates, These should be copied to your: Libraries>Documents>Austodesk>Inventor 2014>Templates>English directory. The Standard.idw should be copied to your: Libraries>Documents>Austodesk>Inventor 2014>Templates directory

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Member
kvfertig
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2014
Message 4 of 4 (97 Views)

Re: Default Template Messed Up?

03-31-2014 07:02 AM in reply to: blair

Thank you! I didn't even have those two folders, so I made made them myself. I extracted stuff out of the ZIP, and it works now! Thanks again!

 

 

-Kyle

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.