Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
rogercamp
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-25-2006
Message 1 of 20 (6,964 Views)
Accepted Solution

Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

6964 Views, 19 Replies
04-21-2012 12:42 PM

I'm having problem changing the default location for templates in Application Options of Inventor 2013. If I set the location to a folder in my server, the template files aren't showing up. It's like there's nothing there. I've never found this problem before. The templates are shared on the network, so it's the same for everybody. Now it's necessary to everyone copy them locally, which is not the best practice in my opinion. Is there a solution to that problem?

I have the same issue!!!

:robotfrustrated:

 

Setup:

  • Path Used "\\SERVERNAME\Cad_Sys_Resources\Inventor\2013\Templates" (Folders for setup resources have no advantage to being on a mapped drive, in fact I feel that mapped drives are like using relative path and therefor BAD, drive letter designation may change).
  • Server did not have indexing on (if that does anything).
  • I have admins to the location.
  • Local Domain Server

Issue:

  • I can't see, select or use my Inventor Templates.
  • How embarrassing as a CAD Manager!

Resolution:

  • Map the network drive.
  • Once mapped you can use the full network path and it works! Why not when it’s not mapped?

Further Investigation:

  • Review if Templates are still functional when the Network Location is mapped as drive and then drive mapping removed?

The workaround does seem to hold water pretty well.  The most consistent way we've been able to make it work is as follows:

 

  1. Map network drive to some unused drive letter
  2. Update the template locations on the File tab in the options dialog to point to the mapped drive.
  3. Apply the changes, reload your project file, then check that the templates are appearing correctly.
  4. Update the template locations on the File tab in the options dialog to point to the network location.
  5. Apply the changes, reload your project file, then check that the templates are appearing correctly.
  6. Unmap the drive.  Everything should still work.

Some of our users were able to skip steps two and three.  YMMV.

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 2 of 20 (6,954 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

04-21-2012 05:00 PM in reply to: rogercamp

Check your settings in your project file.

 

Project File trumps Application Options.

Mark Flayler - Senior Application Engineer
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Active Contributor
rogercamp
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-25-2006
Message 3 of 20 (6,927 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

04-22-2012 01:52 PM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

Hi Mark! Thank you for you reply.

Unfortunately it didn't work.

I set my project file to use a template on a network folder, but when I try to create a new file, the window takes like 4/5 seconds and shows me as seen bellow.


new_file.jpg

New Member
garyh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2009
Message 4 of 20 (6,857 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

04-26-2012 06:39 AM in reply to: rogercamp

Has anyone came up with a solution for this? I am having the same trouble.

Employee
cmbronder
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 5 of 20 (6,808 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

04-26-2012 08:19 PM in reply to: garyh

I apologize for the inconvenience this problem is causing you.  We are able to reproduce this problem and it will be forwarded to development.

 

As a possible workaround, can you map the network server location to a drive letter on your local machine?

For example, using Windows Explorer's Tools->Map network drive... set Q: to \\networkserver\c$.  Then use "Q:\" in the Application Options Default Templates file path.

That workaround enabled me to get the File New dialog to display the templates from a networked location.

 

Clare Bronder

Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
danzco
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Message 6 of 20 (6,698 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

05-04-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: cmbronder

Just wanted to bump this thread; we are having the same problem here.  The mapping a network drive is a bit of a kludge solution that we would rather not have to implement for the long term.

Active Contributor
rogercamp
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-25-2006
Message 7 of 20 (6,689 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

05-05-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: cmbronder

Thank you Clare for your reply. Unfortunately this solution doesn't work quite right for us as the template folder is not in the root of the drive, so I can't map it. I'd have to change it's location which is not what we want.

I hope Autodesk can make a hotfix for it.

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 8 of 20 (6,659 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

05-07-2012 03:56 PM in reply to: rogercamp

I actually tried mapping from the UNC path today and did not experience this problem.  I wonder if it is something environmental...but then again why would it do it in 2013 and not 2012...hmmm

Mark Flayler - Senior Application Engineer
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
New Member
stewart.carberry
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 9 of 20 (6,639 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

05-08-2012 03:00 PM in reply to: rogercamp

I have the same issue!!!

:robotfrustrated:

 

Setup:

  • Path Used "\\SERVERNAME\Cad_Sys_Resources\Inventor\2013\Templates" (Folders for setup resources have no advantage to being on a mapped drive, in fact I feel that mapped drives are like using relative path and therefor BAD, drive letter designation may change).
  • Server did not have indexing on (if that does anything).
  • I have admins to the location.
  • Local Domain Server

Issue:

  • I can't see, select or use my Inventor Templates.
  • How embarrassing as a CAD Manager!

Resolution:

  • Map the network drive.
  • Once mapped you can use the full network path and it works! Why not when it’s not mapped?

Further Investigation:

  • Review if Templates are still functional when the Network Location is mapped as drive and then drive mapping removed?
Active Contributor
danzco
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Message 10 of 20 (6,635 Views)

Re: Default location for templates in Inventor 2013

05-08-2012 03:13 PM in reply to: stewart.carberry

Wow, I would not have thought to try that.  Yes, indeed it does seem to still work after removing the drive mapping.  I have not yet tried restarting my computer though; I'll let you know tomorrow.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.