Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Employee
sysh
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-17-2009
Message 21 of 25 (1,133 Views)

Re: Default hole settings - termination

09-28-2011 06:49 PM in reply to: rimo625

The Termination setting has been addressed in 2012 SP1. Now, the default termination is Through All when start hole feature at the first time. And after changing the termination to other types, it will keep that customized setting from session to session.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 868
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 22 of 25 (1,124 Views)

Re: Default hole settings - termination

09-29-2011 02:34 AM in reply to: sysh

Hi,

I'm sorry to contest. But im running Invpro2012 + SP1 and the default hole settings is exacly what the image shows.

If i change the termination type...yessss i confirm you that the settings are the same in new hole feature or even in new component.

But if i restart Inventor the dialog box displayed has the same default setting with Distance in termination type.

I realized that this has not happened with SP1. Im wrong?





Hole.png

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
Employee
sysh
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-17-2009
Message 23 of 25 (1,102 Views)

Re: Default hole settings - termination

09-29-2011 08:35 PM in reply to: MariaManuela

I check that termination setting on three machines with 2012 SP1. But I can't see the issue you said. So please make sure SP1 was installed successfully on your machine.

 

From the behavior you said, the other possibility I guess is that you installed a hotfix about that termination setting after SP1. If this is true, then you need to reinstall SP1.

 

Other comments:

From Inv 2012, the default termination type was changed to Throught All. But we got some complains that they wanted Distance as the default type. So at that time, we provided that hotfix for them. And it is only for those people who want Distance as the default.

 

After SP1 was released, that hotfix was NOT needed anymore. Especially, you should NOT install that hotfix after installing SP1.  On SP1, when you start hole command at the first time, the default termination type is Throught All. Then you can change it to other types. And it will keep that customized setting for ever.

 

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
kstate92
Posts: 901
Registered: ‎05-09-2005
Message 24 of 25 (1,093 Views)

Re: Default hole settings - termination

09-30-2011 05:08 AM in reply to: sysh

I'm hoping this 'remember last' also extends to the drill point angle as the entire world does not neccesarily use 118° (135° here).

KState92
Inventor Professional 2014 64 SP2
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - SP1
Xeon E5-1620
16 GB Ram
Quadro 4000
Employee
sysh
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎09-17-2009
Message 25 of 25 (1,068 Views)

Re: Default hole settings - termination

10-09-2011 11:03 PM in reply to: kstate92

Thank you for posting the issue about Drill Point Angle setting. I've logged it in our tracking system as a wish list item. We will consider it in the future.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.