Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
carau1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2011
Message 11 of 17 (140 Views)

Re: Cylinder unfold to creat layout.

12-15-2011 05:43 AM in reply to: mdwildcat

If you are wanting to bend your tubing/pipe, you might want to use contour roll for the bends and contour flange for the straights.  Again, as above, you will want to use a radius and not diameter to construct. Leave a gap of .0001 or if that doesn't work, try something very small. Then you should be able to unfold. Good luck

Member
XXL_darth
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2014
Message 12 of 17 (62 Views)

How to solve a contour flange error

09-01-2014 08:57 AM in reply to: mdwildcat

Sheet Metal: Contour Flange Creation failed.
Part1: Errors occurred during update
Non-tangent curves found in path: flat pattern cannot be correctly created. Edit sketch and add constraints to the curves.
Feature Compute failed.

 

Im trying to build a flange with curves for a shelf, the program does project it but then it throws this msg, Do I upload the file so that 

someone can help me fix it or tell me how to fix it???

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,462
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 13 of 17 (56 Views)

Re: How to solve a contour flange error

09-01-2014 09:20 AM in reply to: XXL_darth

Have you installed all Service Packs for 2013?

 

Sketch2 is not fully constrained?

Sketch2 appears to be missing a Tangent Constraint?

Sketch2 is not connected to an edge?

 

Here is image with sketch connected to edge (you can use top or bottom - adjust the R as needed).

 

Contoured Flange.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,462
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 14 of 17 (52 Views)

Re: How to solve a contour flange error

09-01-2014 09:23 AM in reply to: JDMather

You could leave it as Midplane if you want to, but you still-

should constrain your sketch

select edge to follow

set to midplane.

 

midplane.PNG

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
XXL_darth
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2014
Message 15 of 17 (48 Views)

Re: How to solve a contour flange error

09-01-2014 09:26 AM in reply to: JDMather
I did everything but the tangent constraint, I kinda solved it by doing the contour first and then the full body, either way, thanks a lot!!!
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,462
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 16 of 17 (43 Views)

Re: How to solve a contour flange error

09-01-2014 09:33 AM in reply to: XXL_darth

XXL_darth wrote:
.... then the full body

Depending on whether there is any more geometry to this - I problably would have done the entire part as one single Contoured Flange.

There was no need to do as two separate features.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
wh
Posts: 496
Registered: ‎12-27-2003
Message 17 of 17 (40 Views)

Betreff: How to solve a contour flange error

09-01-2014 09:41 AM in reply to: XXL_darth

Perhaps this way? Oh, I see, I'm too late.

Walter

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.