Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
rajeshindi
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 1 of 10 (1,857 Views)
Accepted Solution

creating sub-assembly files

1857 Views, 9 Replies
07-11-2011 04:34 AM

Hi,

I am working mostly on assembly files.  Once I create so many parts, I want to put few of those parts together and create many sub assemblies.  So that I can switch on and off the visibility while working with other parts.

Any help?

ok.. What do you need help on? A subassembly is just a regular assembly that gets placed into another assembly file.

You can also select multiple parts and demote to create a subassy on the fly.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,083
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 10 (1,853 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

07-11-2011 05:11 AM in reply to: rajeshindi

ok.. What do you need help on? A subassembly is just a regular assembly that gets placed into another assembly file.

You can also select multiple parts and demote to create a subassy on the fly.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 919
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 10 (1,822 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

07-13-2011 12:48 AM in reply to: rajeshindi

A quick way to create a subassembly is to select all the parts and hit the TAB key. Or you can right click and chose 'Components' 'Demote'...

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Valued Contributor
RyanBotha
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-15-2007
Message 4 of 10 (1,820 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

07-13-2011 12:57 AM in reply to: PaulMunford

Yeah, that normally works well. Just click 'n drag the resulting assembly, as they sometimes loose constraints. I always try double check within the sub-assembly too, make sure everything is tight.

Distinguished Contributor
rajeshindi
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 5 of 10 (1,799 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

07-16-2011 02:28 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

It works.  Thanks.

Distinguished Contributor
rajeshindi
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 6 of 10 (1,798 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

07-16-2011 02:29 AM in reply to: PaulMunford

Hi,

How to add an existing part in to an existing sub assembly. 

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 919
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (1,780 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

07-16-2011 01:44 PM in reply to: rajeshindi

Just drag and drop...

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
New Member
Farsad_BKH
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-25-2013
Message 8 of 10 (875 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

09-25-2013 11:35 PM in reply to: PaulMunford

HI

I want to insert some design accelerator components in a sub assembly I,ve created befor in my assembly. But it doesn't dragged in my sub assembly !!!

Also I want to insert my bolted connections or pattern components in my sub assemblies.

How can I do that?

Help me pls ...

 

Thank you

*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 919
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (868 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

09-26-2013 12:04 AM in reply to: Farsad_BKH

Bolted connections work slightly differntly. The best thing to do is create them at the subassembly level where you want them to reside...

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
New Member
Farsad_BKH
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-25-2013
Message 10 of 10 (838 Views)

Re: creating sub-assembly files

09-26-2013 06:51 AM in reply to: rajeshindi

Thank You alot, But what about Design accelerator components??? like shaft, bearing and .....

Is there any way for them or should design them in sub assembly level at first???

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.