Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating Paraglider Wing, Inventor 2013

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
robo_147
1198 Views, 7 Replies

Creating Paraglider Wing, Inventor 2013

Hi I would like to start off by saying I'm new to CAD modeling, I am trying to creating a paragliding wing in inventor and its being giving me a massive headache. 

I will try and draw the best picture I can with regards to my problems but, being a newbie I'm not totally sure I'm going about things in the right way.

What I have worked out so far, generating a wing profile sketch and thats about it. 

Now for my problem. I want to position the wing profile onto an elipse shape, and rotate each wing rib to a specific angle (a tangent of a point on the elipse) .

Problem 1: First of all I cant seem to find an easy way divide the elispse in a specific number of segments. I realy just want a number of points I can then snap each profile to. (I have found the retangular pattern is able to do this but its a very round about way)

1 drawing a sketch of the elipse "sketch1"

2I then sketch circle "sketch 2"

3 retangular pattern it onto the elipse. 

4 draw a copy of sketch1 ---> sketch 8

5 project geometry of my circles onto sketch 8

6 use the center points of patterned circles as my snapto points.

Problem 2:

The angle of each wing profile changes across the curve. 

For a simpler (easier to visulise example)

If you take a half circle and divide it into 4 segments, Ie you have 5 points. The first profile will be at the horizontal (as will the last). The middle profile will be virtical, and the remaining 2 will be 45degrees left and right of the center line. 

Thats easy now do that but on an eliplse or a non uniform curve and segment it x number of times.